Clinique Even Better Clinical Radical Dark Spot Corrector + Interrupter | Review

Last February, I was invited to the relaunch of Clinique’s Even Better Radical Dark Spot Corrector + Interrupter as a “derminfluencer”. I’ll be honest and say I haven’t tried any of Clinique’s skincare. I was more into their makeup before — I really loved the formula of their Cheek Pops. So yes, this is the first time I’ve tried and tested their skincare. Continue reading to know more about the product and my experience with it.

RADICAL RADIANCE BY CLINIQUE

Our most powerful brightening serum helps visibly correct discoloration, such as acne marks, while interrupting the look of future dark spots. 94% demonstrated an improvement in radiance and visible skin tone, including acne marks, in 8 weeks. See a 39% visible reduction in dark spots in 12 weeks.

The Even Better Radical Dark Spot Corrector + Interrupter comes in a thin pump glass bottle and is available in 30 ml, 50 ml and 100 ml bottles. What I have with me is the smallest bottle. I personally love the color of the pump bottle it’s housed in particularly the shifting pink and green shades when the light hits it. It’s a little hard to capture that shift in photos but I promise that it looks really pretty in person. The serum itself has yellowish tint and doesn’t have any scent or fragrance.

It has silicones, ascorbyl glucoside, mulberry root extract, Chinese skullcap root extract, green tea leaf extract, Saccharomyces lysate extract, salicylic acid, rice bran extract, squalane, acetyl glucosamine, sodium hyaluronate, caffeine, birch bark extract, dimethoxytolyl propylresorcinol, sunflower seedcake, yeast extract and tocopheryl acetate. It combines 2 kinds of complexes: CL302 Complex and Interrupter Complex. The former (CL302 Complex) combines dimethoxytolyl propylresorcinol, ascorbyl glucoside, salicylic acid, acetyl glucosamine and yeast extract while the latter (Interrupter Complex) combines green tea leaf extract and rice bran extract.

Here are some specifics about the ingredients. Dimethoxytolyl propylresorcinol, a compound from the Dianella ensifolia plant, can induce tyrosinase degradation — FYI, tyrosinase is the enzyme responsible for the production of melanin, therefore, reducing hyperpigmentation. Ascorbyl glucoside is a gentle derivative of ascorbic acid and is more stable when exposed to heat, light and oxygen. Salicylic acid, a beta-hydroxy acid, may not brighten the skin but because it’s an exfoliant and has anti-inflammatory properties, it can remove dead skin cells while reducing redness. Acetyl glucosamine has been noted to reduce hyperpigmentation and can be an alternative to alpha-hydroxy acids as an anti-aging, hydrating and exfoliating ingredient. Yeast extract contains beta-glucan which has been shown to have antioxidant, hydrating and soothing effects. Green tea leaf extract is full of antioxidants (catechins and epigallocatechin gallate) and has anti-inflammatory, moisturizing & photoprotective effects on the skin. Rice bran extract is rich in antioxidants (ferulic acid, gamma-oryzanol & phytic acid) and has hydrating properties too.

This serum has an emulsion-like quality and is quite runny. To test this out, I cut back on all other actives that I think would provide similar benefits like retinoids, vitamin C, niacinamide, arbutin, etc. Meaning, I stopped using other skincare products with those ingredients and just simplified my AM and PM routines into 3 to 4 steps. I would apply one pump of the serum after cleansing my face in the morning and at night. Because of the presence of silicones, it leaves a velvety smooth feeling on the skin on application and when it settles down, leaves a little tacky feeling.

I was a little worried on whether I’ll break out from this because I usually do with cosmetics containing a high percentage of dimethicones or at least having it in its top part of the ingredients list. Surprisingly though, I haven’t broken out yet and I thank the heavens for that because if I did, I would’ve stopped testing this right away. I tried to take my before and after photos at the same time and in similar lighting conditions to capture any difference on my face if there is any. Looking at the mirror everyday, the only changes I saw were the slight reduction of redness on the sides of my nose and cheeks but looking at these after photos, I’m surprised to see my face having a more evened-out skin tone especially after 2 weeks of using it. I also think this gave my complexion a rosy-white glow. Although I don’t think it did anything to my sunspots, I believe I would need to use this longer for more changes.

Overall, I think the changes this serum gives are more subtle and anyone who wants to add this to their routines needs to use it consistently and continuously to reap the benefits. With regards to skin type recommendations, I think this can be suitable for most skin types. Those with sensitive skins however, I will still advise you to do a patch test because this contains some actives and plant extracts that may not be agreeable for you. Since I’m not breaking out with this, I will continue using it and let you guys know if there are other changes it will have on my skin.

The 30 ml bottle retails for Php 3,750 while the 50 ml retails for Php 5,500 in Lazada while the 100 ml bottle is priced at Php 9,600 in Rustan’s. Have you tried the old formula of this serum before?

[*Clinique PH has kindly provided the product but all opinions are my own. I apologize if I didn’t properly label the serum on my photos.]

XOXO

NIKKI P.

Don’t forget to visit/follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | MY CHARIS STORE

Leave a comment