COSRX Triple C Lightning Liquid | Review

COSRX Triple C Lightning Liquid

I’ve become a fan of Vitamin C serums since I discovered their existence. Yes, they provide incredible benefits for the skin but I never knew just how good they can be until I was using the one from COSRX. Read my review of it down below.

BRIGHT LIKE LIGHTNING

COSRX Triple C Lightning Liquid5

Brighten up your overall complexion and acne scars in a flash with Triple C Lightning Liquid, a winner of the 2017 Soko Glam Best of K-beauty Award. This exclusive serum is a collaboration between Soko Glam’s Co-Founder Charlotte Cho and the Founder of Cosrx. With 20.5% pure Vitamin C (ascorbic acid), this powerful serum brings back radiance, promotes healthy skin, and treats and prevents pigmentation. It’s also infused with 72% black chokeberry, an ingredient that works to stabilize the Vitamin C and ensure that your skin is smooth and hydrated.The Charlotte Cho x COSRX Promise:

In order for a pure Vitamin C serum to be effective, it must be fresh. That’s why we’re making all Triple C Lightning Liquids in small batches and air shipping them directly from Korea to ensure that the serums are fresh and high quality.

To maximize the effectiveness of your serum, it’s best to store in the refrigerator or a cool, dark place. Keep the bottle air tight.

The Triple C Lightning Liquid is a watery serum with a clear liquid and no accompanying smell. It is kept in a  30 ml, black, dropper-type, glass bottle labeled with simple gold fonts.

COSRX Triple C Lightning Liquid3

Because this COSRX serum contains pure vitamin C or a high percent of it, it has a tendency to oxidize. So these days, I keep this bottle in a shelf on the door of our refrigerator. Even it has 72% black chokeberry for stabilization, it still needs to be kept away from humidity, direct sunlight and extreme changes in temperature. Just because you have it in a cool place, it doesn’t mean it won’t oxidize. Once it begins to, it will turn yellow and eventually into a brown color. And when that happens, its efficacy begins to wane. (By the way, all this I learned from an article in The Klog.)

But in its most natural form, topical Vitamin C has skin brightening effects and stimulates collagen production to reduce fine lines and wrinkles, and to promote wound healing. It acts as an antioxidant in protecting the skin from oxidative stress caused by harmful UV rays. It lightens up any dark areas of the skin by decreasing the formation of melanin. Lastly, it has an anti-inflammatory effect so it makes it an ideal serum for those with acne or rosacea and it also prevents post inflammatory hyperpigmentation caused by those skin conditions. I’m not just saying these because that’s what most websites says. I based all of these from a dermatologic journal.

After more than 2 months of using it, here’s what I observed. My post-acne marks lightened up faster than I anticipated. Usually it takes at least 3 or 4 months before it fades completely but with just under 3 weeks in using the serum, they all disappear. My skin is definitely brighter looking and smoother to touch especially on areas of my face where I have break outs. The pimples that I do get, resolve in only 1 to 2 days.

COSRX Triple C Lightning Liquid4

Just a word of caution though. It doesn’t come without any side effects. One of the most common things you will encounter is a stinging sensation on application. Remember that Vitamin C is an acid — ascorbic acid — and just as any other topical acids, you need to build up your tolerance to it before using it everyday. At first, I started with just 2 drops 3 times a week, gradually building up the frequency until my skin can handle daily usage (without stinging). After, I begin increasing the number of drops (I am now at 3-4 drops alternatively). Also always remember to apply sunblock before sun exposure as ascorbic acid can make the skin photosensitive.

If you haven’t sensed it yet from the start, well then I’m telling you now directly. I LOVE THIS SERUM! It rightfully deserves to be given my TWO THUMBS UP and a HOLY GRAIL status because of all the amazing effects I’ve seen it done on my skin. And yes, I will definitely repurchase a bottle.

But I do think that this Vitamin C serum needs to be available in 2 sizes, one in 10 ml and another in 30 ml. First time users may find it helpful if they can avail of the smaller bottle first to get their skin used to the acid. While long-term users of Vitamin C will find it easier to consume a whole 30 ml bottle. Anyway, that’s that and I still love everything about it.

Are you using a Vitamin C serum in your regimen? What brand? Tell me down below!

XOXO
NIKKI P.

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

One thought on “COSRX Triple C Lightning Liquid | Review

  1. I also only discovered the benefits of Vitamin C recently. I am in love. My skin looks more glowy and smooth. I am currently using the Wishtrend one, but this one is going to my wish list. Lovely review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

