Anastasia Beverly Hills Subculture Palette | Review

Anastasia Beverly Hills Subculture palette

Today, I’m finally ready to discuss my experience with the Subculture palette. Forgive me for the delay but I can’t bring myself to write about it so soon without really scrutinizing the product. You know me, my reviews are really delayed. Anyway, I watched several of my favorite YouTube vloggers’ review of it and I was kind of disappointed with their reactions. But no matter, let’s get to business.

ANASTASIA’S SUBCULTURE

Anastasia Beverly Hills Subculture palette2

An essential eye shadow collection, Anastasia Beverly Hills Subculture Palette features 14 shades that range from grungy mattes to bold metallics with an underground edge. Complement to best-selling Modern Renaissance Palette.

Full pigment and easy-to-blend formula
14 shades with ultra-matte, duo chrome and metallic finishes
Includes dual-ended brush

 

Anastasia Beverly Hills Subculture palette3

The Subculture Palette contains 14 eyeshadows that range from mattes to metallics in a mixture of colors, half neutral and the other half very colorful. These are the following shades: Roxy, an ultra matte muted coral; Electric, a duo chrome lime-goldFudge which is described as an ultra-matte warm bronze; New Wave, which is an ultra-matte citron orangeUntamed, an ultra-matte tarnished greenEdge, an ultra-matte gold mustard; Rowdy, described as an ultra-matte blackened purpleAxis, an ultra-matte blue-greenMercury, which is an ultra-matte slate greyAll Star, an ultra-matte vintage wineAdorn, a metallic bronzeDestiny, described as an ultra-matte sage greenDawn, an ultra-matte sand; and Cube, a duo chrome pink pearl.

This is what my palette looks like after 1 week. I made sure to use every shade equally by this time. I wanted to know just how powdery some of the shades are and how the pans would look like after using it for at least 1 week.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Subculture palette 1 week after

As you can see, the shades Cube and Axis looks the most “disturbed”. And if you look closely, Cube has been tainted. You have to use a clean brush for this shade when you dip in it otherwise, yeah, that’s what you get.

So the powders are too soft that they become quite powdery until there’s too much excess and fallout flying everywhere. This is particularly true for Axis and a bit for Rowdy. I was actually afraid I’ll get my order with some broken pans after watching a couple of video reviews. Thank the heavens that’s didn’t happen! There’s only one shade that I had difficulty in blending out and that’s Fudge. I had no problems with the pigmentation whatsoever (I think it’s the only redeeming quality of the palette). They can last well throughout the day with little creasing without any primer.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Subculture palette row1 swatches

Anastasia Beverly Hills Subculture palette row2 swatches

This palette is really more of a compliment to the Modern Renaissance, which is all kinds lovely, by the way. Despite the flaws of this palette, I’m quite keen on Cube and All Star. The rest I can live without. And there lies the problem. If I only like 2 shades out of 14, I think I’m better off not purchasing it. Kidding, of course I will use the neutrals and I can use the other bold colors too, just not as frequent.

I can’t recommend this to first time eyeshadows users but maybe if you’ve got really light hands or are working in the makeup industry, you might be able to make it work for you. I’ve watched some MUA’s work with this and they don’t seem to have any kind of trouble.

Who else has this palette? What are your thoughts about it? Love it or hate it? Let me know down below!

XOXO
NIKKI P.

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

7 thoughts on “Anastasia Beverly Hills Subculture Palette | Review

Leave a Reply

