The Ordinary Colours Coverage Foundation in 1.2N | Review

The Ordinary Colours Coverage Foundation

There’s a long waiting list for The Ordinary Colours Foundation series. And I mean long. It took me 2 months before I got my order from @makeupdepot. As soon I received it in the mail, I queued it up next to try. Click on more to read all about it.

NOT SO ORDINARY COVERAGE?

The Ordinary Colours Coverage Foundation3

Coverage Foundations are full-coverage formulations available in a comprehensive shade range across 21 shades. These foundations contain higher pigment levels than our Serum Foundations but still offer a smooth finish that avoids the heavy makeup look that can make skin appear more aged. The texture is that of a lightweight, non-oily cream.

The pigments used in these formulations are treated for a rich, highly-saturated effect. These pigments are suspended in our proprietary spreadability system that allows pigments to look natural on the skin, resist collecting within fine lines and stay on for longer. The foundations offer a semi-matte finish and are compatible with most primers and are designed to work exceptionally well with the primers offering from The Ordinary.

*They have a very long description of the product on their webpage so make sure to read that thoroughly.

The Ordinary Colours Coverage Foundation5

The Ordinary offers two kind of foundations in their Colours range, Serum and Coverage Foundation. Both lines have 21 shade offerings.Β They have a quick foundation guide to help customers decide which shade matches their skin. Based on this very guide, I chose 1.2N which is a light with neutral undertones. The Coverage Foundation comes with a black, matte rubbery pump in a 30 ml bottle.

The Ordinary Colours Coverage Foundation2

I wanted to write about it as soon as wore it on the first day because it totally blew my initial expectations away. Kind of like a first-impressions thing but I didn’t want to come off with such high praises then suddenly change my mind about it later on. I waited a while to write down my final thoughts since I might break out or get a bad reaction because of the silicone content.

The Ordinary Colours Coverage Foundation4

Anyway, my pores become almost invisible with one layer and it covers up the discoloration on my undereye areas that I don’t need a separate concealer to hide them. My skin also evens out. They say it has a semi-matte finish but I digress. I think it looks more natural-matte (are those the same?). The type of matte that doesn’t look flat but looks very natural and skin-like. The coverage is not really full but a buildable medium that can be fully opaque with a few more layers.

The Ordinary Colours Coverage Foundation6

However, someone told me there are reviews of the product breaking up on the sides of the nose. I had hoped it wouldn’t happen to me but unfortunately, it did. I thought I’d solve that problem by using a sponge instead but it didn’t help either. By the 3-hour mark, the foundation starts to break down not only on the sides of the nose but also a little bit on my forehead. Aside from that, the pores on my nose had begun to get emphasized at the same time. To prevent all those breaking down and settling into pores, I need to wear a primer underneath. On its own, there’s not much oil control because it only gave me a minimum of 4 hours before I find myself becoming shiny (and it’s not even that humid here now).

The Ordinary Colours Coverage Foundation 1.2N swatch

To cap off this review, the only thing I like about the Coverage Foundation is its, well, coverage — at least it’s living up to its name. But the formula doesn’t agree with my oily skin. It doesn’t mean I’m not going to use it anymore, I just have to consistently use a primer. Anyway, they’re going to have new products added to their Colours line soon, one of which is the ‘Matte Watercolours’, and I hope this might suit my skin better.

Did anyone else experience what I did with the Colours foundation? Or do you guys like it? Tell me all about it in the comments!

XOXO
NIKKI P.

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

2 thoughts on “The Ordinary Colours Coverage Foundation in 1.2N | Review

  1. I was reading your review and thinking you would love it. Too bad it didn’t last well over the day. I don’t think I’ll being getting it then, since I have pretty oily T-zone. Lovely review! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

