Violet Voss Matte About You Eye Shadow Palette | Review

Violet Voss Matte About You Eyeshadow Palette3

Violet Voss has never disappointed me in their eyeshadows. I can honestly say at this point that they have one of the best eyeshadow formulas in the makeup industry. So much so that their Holy Grail Palette has become one of my holy grails. It’s inevitable that they’d produce an all-matte eyeshadow palette and of course, I’d get it.

MAD ABOUT MATTES

Violet Voss Matte About You Eyeshadow Palette

Violet Voss Cosmetics is proud to present 20 highly pigmented eye shadows in a variety of must have finishes.  Our PRO eye shadows are made with the highest quality ingredients and formulated to allow for smooth blending.  The perfect go-to for any occasion to create your flawless sexy look.

 Details
  • 20 colors
  • Mattes
  • Full sized pans (1.8 grams each)
  • Cruelty Free
  • Infused with Jojoba Oil
  • Vegan
  • RETAIL VALUE $120 (if sold separately)

Violet Voss Matte About You Eyeshadow Palette2

The Matte About You Eyeshadow Palette has 20 matte eyeshadows weighing 1.8 g each with a wide range of warm-toned and cool-tones shades, most of them in different kind of browns. The packaging is a step-up from the old matte cardboard. For one thing, the cardboard is thicker which feels more secure and sturdy, and instead of being matte, it has a glossy and holographic appearance.

While this palette clearly lacks variety (too many identical browns on row 2!), I’d be lying if I say I’m not happy about it. I’m a self-confessed neutral-lover and this palette is perfect for the likes of me. However, I think the shades included, to most makeup lovers, are too common and dupable. That said, I know that a couple more interesting shades (purples and reds, anyone?) would make this palette even more awesome.

Almost all of the eyeshadows are soft, smooth, and buttery. Some are softer than the others like Yearning and Crazy Love. There are a few that didn’t perform quite well as the others in that they were a bit chalky and dry like Mi Amor and Beloved. But aside from those texture glitches, not an ounce of fallout made itself known. The soft texture makes them blend easily and very well together. When worn without any primer, they last for at least 6 to 7 hours. Creasing starts to happen thereafter.

Here are the swatches:

Row 1:

Violet Voss Matte About You Eyeshadow Palette Row 1 swatches

Row 2:

Violet Voss Matte About You Eyeshadow Palette Row 2 swatches

Row 3:

Violet Voss Matte About You Eyeshadow Palette Row 3 swatches

Row 4:

Violet Voss Matte About You Eyeshadow Palette Row 4 swatches

Now don’t get me wrong, this is a palette that’s better than most in the market. I actually see myself frequently picking this up in the future but for the record, I think that Violet Voss could have done better. Perhaps they plan on making another one? I’m crossing my fingers for that.

This retails for $45 at Violet Voss Cosmetics. Does anyone else have this? What do you guys think? And also are there any other matte eyeshadow palettes out there I should give a go? Tell me down below!

XOXO
NIKKI P.

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

Leave a Reply

