Cathy Doll AA Matte Powder Cushion Oil Control in #23 Natural Beige | Review

Cathy Doll AA Matte Powder Cushion Oil Control

May the makeup heavens bless the lady (or man) who came up with cushion products. I’ve been impressed from the first day I got myself a cushion compact and ever since then, I’m always interested in knowing which brands are coming out with new ones. Matte finish claims are rare to find because I know how Koreans and Japanese love their dewy looks so much. That’s the reason I bought the Matte Powder Cushion from Cathy Doll.

MATTE DOLLS

Cathy Doll AA Matte Powder Cushion Oil Control2

Say bye to grease and dark spots with this matte finish powder cushion from Cathy Doll. Containing Tea Tree Oil Extracts, Titanium Dioxide, and Korean herbs, this oil-control formula comes with the latest innovative airy foundation technology to provide cooling sensation and protects skin from dullness.

– For all skin types
– Anti-Acne and Anti-Aging
– Korean herbs
– Titanium Dioxide
– Tea Tree Oil
– 15g

Cathy Doll AA Matte Powder Cushion Oil Control5

The AA Matte Powder Cushion Oil Control comes in a combination of bright pink and blue cushion compact. The compact contains 15g of product and the cushion smells distinctly like tea tree oil. There are only three shades available and the nearest shade matching my skin tone is #23 Natural Beige. It’s more yellow-toned than I anticipated (I’m more cool-toned on the face so the difference is quite startling) but the other two shades were either too light or too dark.

Cathy Doll AA Matte Powder Cushion Oil Control3

This has the fullest coverage I have ever used in a cushion base/foundation(?) or in any foundation for that matter. And it becomes matte as soon as it settles on the skin. The first time I used it, I applied it like a normal cushion product, patting the puff all over my face. Honestly, I was not expecting for it to have a full matte coverage. My pores and acne marks are covered in an instant. That same day, I got commented on how my skin looks more brightened and flawless. The cushion started to crease though, more on the lines around my mouth, on the way to the 7th hour mark. The product has also settled on the pores on my nose around the same time.

Cathy Doll AA Matte Powder Cushion Oil Control4

Preference-wise, I like a base with medium coverage so what I do now is I pat the puff only on my forehead, chin, cheeks and nose. Then I use a dense buffing brush to distribute the product all over my face. The matte coverage is still present but not as full as before. I’ve then noticed there’s not much creasing with only a little applied. My face stays matte for a total of 5 hours before oil starts getting in on the action. The other thing I noticed, which sealed the deal for me, is how there’s just a little product transfer on the nose pads of my glasses when every other foundation I’ve worn has lots.

Cathy Doll AA Matte Powder Cushion Oil Control #23 swatch

I believe this deserves a TWO THUMBS UP from me. I recommend this to anyone who’s looking to cover up active, cystic or nodular acne. I think the combination of tea tree oil and full coverage will help those active and red lesions on the face.

This cushion product retails for Php 1,100 and is available on leading department stores like Metro Gaisano, Robinson’s and SM Department Store, and Watson’s.
name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

3 thoughts on “Cathy Doll AA Matte Powder Cushion Oil Control in #23 Natural Beige | Review

Leave a Reply

