Biologique Recherche Lotion P50T | Review

Biologique Recherche Lotion P50T 2

Biologique Recherche is one of those French brands that I have put on a high pedestal, making a mental promise to myself that one day I’ll be able to try most of their products. There are barely, if any, negative reviews about them and it’s mostly about the way their products smell. If you know the brand then you’d also know that the P50 Lotion has a cult following. Time to know what all the fuss is all about.

P50 LOTION IN ACTION

Biologique Recherche Lotion P50T

The P50, P50V, P50W and P50 PIGM400 balancing exfoliators are the unique fruit of 30 years of reflection and experience. P50 balancing exfoliators speed up the epidermis’ natural exfoliating process and the reconstruction of the epidermal shield. The fortified epidermis can then fulfil its protective functions completely, enhancing skin’s self-regeneration potential.

The P50 ritual is a key stage in all Biologique Recherche skin care programmes; it exfoliates, purifies, cleanses and regenerates.

The Lotion P50 is the formula of the multifunction lotion in its purest form. It contains Thyme essential oil and myrrh, which have purifying, toning, and antiseptic properties. It penetrates the epidermis quickly and so is only suitable for thicker Skin Instants® with seborrheic tendency.

Biologique Recherche Lotion P50T 3

The Lotion P50T is the mildest exfoliator in the P50 range and is recommended for sensitive skin. I only bought the small 30ml size bottle to try. And if things go remarkably well, I might go for a bigger bottle.

I didn’t know there was a proper way of applying it the first time. I just thought, “Hey, it’s a toner so I’ll use it like any kind of regular toner.” So I poured some on a dry cotton pad which resulted in stinging in some areas of my cheeks. I found out that I have to apply it with a wet pad instead during the first week of use. I also have to press and release the pad on each area of the face only once, being careful not to rub it in or reapply a second time. On the second week, a dry cotton pad can be used if the skin can tolerate it.

For anyone who’s terribly bothered by the strong, vinegar scent, I can only offer two solutions. One, take a deep, deep breath and hold it in for as long as you can while applying the soaked cotton pad to your face. Or two, breathe through your mouth thru the whole process. Either way, the smell wears off after a couple of seconds but if you can’t stomach it entirely, I suggest the number 2 option better. It’s what I do.

Forgetting the vinegar scent, the biggest change I have noticed about my skin after more than a month of using it is I seem to be less oily. Gasp! Yeah, I don’t oil up as much as I used to when in fact before I started using this toner, in just 2 hours, without any mattifying products on, I start getting shiny. Considering the humidity factor and summer season we have here in the Philippines, I would have gone through several blotting papers in a day, but now I found myself using them less frequently. Although I don’t see any changes on the size and visibility of my pores, I’ve still got a long way to go before I make my final judgement. And the bumps on my skin are also unchanged (Ggrrr, damn you hormonal acne!). I think I should get the regular P50 to address that matter.

So at this point, I’m not completely averse to a repurchase (or in any case, getting the P50 version) in the future. I only have the smallest bottle and given the amount I use every day, it’ll be months until I come to that. The only thing that will stop me from buying one again is the price.

Have you guys tried this toner? Or any products from Biologique Recherche? By the way, I can’t find this while navigating the Biologique Recherche website. If I search it on Google though, a link appears.

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

4 thoughts on “Biologique Recherche Lotion P50T | Review

  1. I want to try one of the P50 toners for the longest time! But I significantly reduced my beauty budget this year so I opted for The Ordinary’s lactic acid serum(?) seeing that P50 opted for lactic acid as its active. The latter doesn’t smell good, too, but tolerable.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

