Camelia de Chanel Illuminating Powder | Review

Chanel Camelia de Chanel Illuminating Powder

As most of you know by now, I’m very much attracted to any makeup designed with a beautiful pattern on its pan. When I’m Instagram too often, I usually end up buying a product because of the hype surrounding it. That’s what happened with the Camelia de Chanel Illuminating Powder.

DELICATE AS A FLOWER

Mademoiselle Chanel pinned a camellia onto the lapel of her black jacket to light up her face. With CAMÉLIA DE CHANEL, you can also illuminate your beauty. This iridescent illuminating powder, textured with a radiance-boosting camellia, brightens up shadowy areas and accentuates the high points of the face that naturally catch the light for a glowing satiny makeup result. An Exclusive Creation presented in a LES BEIGES case, revamped in iconic CHANEL red and stamped with the double C: a perfect gift idea. Limited edition.

Chanel Camelia de Chanel Illuminating Powder2

The Camelia de Chanel Illuminating Powder is a beautiful spectacle at first glance. I can look at it any time of the day because the embossed camelia flower on the pan is very distracting. I mean, who wouldn’t want to stare at that pattern all day long?! Anyway, the mirrored compact is similar to the Les Beiges powders including the half-moon brush however, the only difference is the cover of its compact is painted red instead of the traditional black. The highlighter weighs an approximate 6g or 0.21 0z.

While the packaging is awe-inspiring, the actual product did not meet my expectations. The highlighter is a light gold with fine shimmers and some sliver glitters that Chanel describes as sheer. I have no issues with sheer highlighters but the silver glitters doesn’t appeal to me. I’m not saying they’re chunky but they aren’t finely milled either. It doesn’t show up on my swatch below but when applied on the skin, the glitters are more discrete looking, making them stand out. With wear time, it only lasts for 6 hours on me before totally fading.

Chanel Camelia de Chanel Illuminating Powder swatch

If sheer highlighting is your thing then this might get your approval. Otherwise, you’re better off looking for another highlighter. Also, if Chanel took out the silver glitters then I might like this more.

Retailing for $70, I don’t think this will ever be available in the Philippines. I had to order this thru @designerdepotph. Did anyone else get this? What are your thoughts about it?
name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

5 thoughts on “Camelia de Chanel Illuminating Powder | Review

  1. I know what you mean about sparkles/glitter in high-lighters, I mean why would anyone want to look like a glitter ball?!! More luminosity…less glitter. Glad I read this as I adore Chanel brand but don’t think I’ll be trying this one! πŸ€”πŸ’•

    Like

Leave a Reply

