NARS Velvet Matte Skin Tint Broad Spectrum SPF 30 | Review

NARS Velvet Matte Skin Tint

I had always wanted to get a tinted moisturizer for days when I don’t use a foundation but still want to cover up some of my Β minor skin issues. Something along the lines of my-skin-but-better look. The Velvet Matte Skin Tint was always at the forefront of my mind but whenever I stop by the NARS counters and ask if they have my shade, I always get a negative response, until one day when they did have it in stock.

A MATTE TINT FOR THE SKIN

THE NEW MATTE. UNCOVERED.
Introducing Velvet Matte Skin Tint SPF 30 Instant gratification. Effortless application. Protects and perfects with a soft-matte finish. Medium buildable coverage. Oil-free. All-day wear. 12 global shades.

THE INNOVATION:
VELVET ILLUSION COMPLEX
Transforms the look of skin immediately and over time.

NARS Velvet Matte Skin Tint2

The Velvet Matte Skin Tint comes in a total of 12 shades altogether. I was matched to Alaska, which is described as a light with a neutral balance of pink and yellow undertones. It’s also the third lightest shade in the range.

The formula is a little thick for something that feels like a lightweight on the skin but it blends easy enough. And while it got labeled as a matte, I think it has more of a natural and semi-matte finish. Setting those tidbits aside, it totally evened out my skin tone. The red areas on my face have gone away with just one layer and my pores got covered and blurred away which left me pretty impressed from the first day I used it. The coverage runs from sheer to buildable medium so a second pass on all those dark marks can be dealt with easily. Too many layers though can cause creasing and can look cakey.

Supposedly, it as an oil-free formula that can control shine. I’m sorry but I really can’t agree on that claim. I’ve tried to use different setting powders with it just to see how long it takes before I get shiny on my cheeks and T-zone and every time it’s always somewhere around the 3rd hour when I start getting shiny. Then after 6 or 7 hours, I start noticing it to fade more on the cheeks than anywhere else as my pores become more noticeable.

NARS Velvet Matte Skin Tint Alaska swatch

Funny enough, I think this can be worn best by anyone with normal and dry skin. Its oil control is not its strongest suite and I have a feeling that I might never be able to wear this during the more humid days in this country.

A single tube of the Velvet Matte Skin Tint retails for Php 2,550 at the Rustan’s Department Store (and $45 in the US). Has anyone else tried this? What did you guys think of it? Leave your thoughts down below!
name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

6 thoughts on “NARS Velvet Matte Skin Tint Broad Spectrum SPF 30 | Review

Leave a Reply

