2016 In Review: Hits, Misses, Empties and Pans

HIts of 2016

Just a few more days to go before 2016 comes to a close, can you believe it? Anyway, I usually do the year-end product round up every January of the following year but this time though, I thought I’d do it earlier.

HITS

For me, 2016 was a year of highlighters, liquid lipsticks and eyeshadow palettes. Those 3 basically littered my vanity table from drugstore brands to high end products. Instagram has been a huge enabler (and help?) for my addiction, introducing me to different brands and people who further enable me, thus a never-ending cycle.

I’m going to put my best highlighter, liquid lipstick and eyeshadow palette finds and other hits in separate posts because if I place them all here, it’s going to get too long for my liking. Expect them in the next few days. For now the photo above shows some of my favorite products (Kylie Cosmetics, ColourPop, Laura Mercier, Jeffree Star, Happy Skin, Essence).

MISSES

Misses of 2016

I’ve only got a few misses for this year probably because I’m so picky with any kind of beauty product. From the disappointment that was the Givenchy Poudre Lumière Originelle to the time I had a bad reaction to the Mint Julep Masque awhile back. I also never bothered again with the smudge-y Shiseido Integrate Pencil Gel Eyeliner I bought from Japan late last year and the powdery & nonexistent pigmentation of Canmake Mat Fleur Cheeks after trying them out for a few days.

EMPTIES

Empties of 2016

Most of my empties are skincare-related as you can see from the photo. There are toners, moisturizers and makeup removers, notable of which is the Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleansing Cloths because I’m already on my 5th pack of this and I have yet to complete writing down my review of it. Come to think of it, more than half of these empties have not been reviewed at all. Oops!

Makeup-wise, I’ve finished up a tube of the Collection Cosmetics Lasting Perfection Concealer, a Maybelline lip balm and Dior Addict Lip Glow.

PANS

Pans of 2016

Nothing makes a beauty addict feel more accomplished than hitting pan on a product. It shows that even if I’ve amassed a lot of new makeup, I’ve still managed to use up some of them and it clearly shows some of my favorites. I’ve already finished the Canmake Marshmallow Finish Powder and I’ve been itching to repurchase but at the moment, I really want to try another compact powder. I’ve also hit pan on the NYC Smooth Skin Bronzing Face Powder in Sunny after continuously using it since August and the Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Prim.

Your turn now. Any hits or misses this year? How about hitting pan?
name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

7 thoughts on “2016 In Review: Hits, Misses, Empties and Pans

  1. It just goes to show, but high end and low end makeup brands have hits and misses! I almost bought one of the Canmake Mat Fleur Cheeks blushes, but I`m glad I stuck with cream blushes that they’re known for instead!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A hit for me was Lancome Juicy Shaker. It’s not bad but not for me. I took bright color and it actually gives color on my lips but I can’t wear it all day as it start to feather on the edge of my lips when I reapply several times:/ I gave it away to other person to try) Hope it stays good on her.

    Like

Leave a Reply

