MAC Trip The Light Fantastic Powders in Highly Illogical and Strange New World | Review

MAC Trip The Light Fantastic Powder4

Today, I’ll be finally writing down my thoughts about the Trip the Light Fantastic Powders from the Star Trek Collection. Out of all the items from the collection, these powders have captured my interest.

The Review:

MAC Trip The Light Fantastic Powder2

Trip The Light Fantastic Powders come in simple black compacts with the Star Trek Starfleet black-and-silver logo on the front containing about 6.5g/0.22oz of product. Honestly, I expected some kind of fancy packaging, after all it’s one of the most anticipated collections from MAC but instead we’re presented with the black and silver combination. I imagined some silver compacts would have been better. Another thing to note is the veining. I think that for every individual shade, they won’t have the exact depth of color.

MAC Trip The Light Fantastic Powder Strange New Worlds

Strange New Worlds is described as a sheer wash of golden coral pearl. This has some combination of gold, peach, coral and dark pink, then when mixed together creates a warm-toned coral with a golden shimmer.

MAC Trip The Light Fantastic Powder Highly Illogical

Highly Illogical  is described as a sheer wash of golden plum with fine pearl. On closer look, it has a combination of some light tan, dark brown, some gold and a bit of plum. When swirled together, the end color looks more like a medium golden bronze with a fine sheen. Mine has more of the light tan and has less of the gold.

Initially, I got the impression that they’d have a sheer finish considering the product description MAC gave these. Based on the online  swatches, I thought they’d be perfect as highlighters. In reality though, they act more like highlighting blushes which is quite a welcome surprise. I don’t have the lightest shade but I think that one will fit as a true highlighter.

The powders were all easy to blend and had light to medium buildable pigmentation. I didn’t find them to be chalky or powdery at all. They have a smooth texture on the pan that was easy to pick up with a brush and lasts well for 7 to 8 hours before fading.

MAC Trip The Light Fantastic Powder Highly Illogical & Strange New Worlds swatches

If you were thinking of purchasing something from this collection, I really suggest these powders be on the top of your list especially if you’ve got the same skin tone as me. I enjoy layering them on top of my blush or bronzer for an added luminosity and pigmentation. The effect is just so lovely that I wish MAC will release more shades in the future.

They retail for Php 2,300 each at all MAC stores nationwide. Get them while they’re still available. Tell me what you think down in the comments below.

 

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

2 thoughts on “MAC Trip The Light Fantastic Powders in Highly Illogical and Strange New World | Review

  1. Pingback: October 2016 Low-Buy Accountability | stash matters

Leave a Reply

