MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Soft & Gentle and Lightscapade | Review

MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Soft and Gentle Lightscapade

This review should have been posted a loooong time ago. I’m so sorry but I was prioritizing limited editions first and since both are permanent MAC Cosmetic items, I figured I could delay them a little while. Turns out, ‘a little while’ was not so little after all. But here it is. Two of my Mineralize Skinfinishes, one I got from Japan last year and the other a gift from a friend.

MINERALS ON THE SKIN

A luxurious, soft-baked, velvety soft, domed face powder with a radiant finish. Strategically buff on to add highlights to the high points of the face, or blend all over for a sheer luminous polish to the skin. Features our 77-Mineral  Complex and vitamin E.

The Review:

MAC Mineralize Skinfinish

Old vs New

The packaging of the MAC Mineralize Skinfinishes got a revamp two years ago. Personally, I think the old packaging has a more classic appeal but the revamp definitely made the compacts more sturdy. Why can’t we have both? Also, the new compacts now have a magnetic closure which the old ones didn’t have. (Hooray for all makeup klutzes out there! These compacts might be more safe should you have an accident!)

MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Soft and Gentle

Soft & Gentle is the one I got from Japan in the Cosmetics Company outlet store in Gotemba which explains the old packaging. It is described as a gilded peach bronze. It feels more like a light peach with warm, gold undertones. You can see the gold tone on my swatch below. On the pan, there’s a visible shimmer but somehow, it doesn’t translate to the skin. Once applied, it gives the skin a slight gleam that reminds me of summer. On the palest skin, I believe this can work as some sort of blush.

MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Lightscapade

Lightscapade is described as a soft candlelit beige with multidimensional shimmer. This one, I think would fit the pale beige description and I wouldn’t really agree that it has a shimmer but more of a luminous sheen. Compared with Soft & Gentle though, this has less shimmer to it. Considering the paleness of this Skinfinish, I think this may work best and will show up more with anyone who has a light to medium skin tone.

The powders are soft and finely-milled although there are times when a little bit of powder gets kicked off. This is especially true for Soft & Gentle. But they are both easily applied and blended on the skin. They also have more than satisfactory pigmentation and are quite buildable with a couple of layers. They last about 6 to 7 hours on me before I see signs of fading.

MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Soft and Gentle Lightscapade swatches2

Between the two, I would pick  Lightscapade anytime and any day. Don’t get me wrong, Soft & Gentle is definitely a beauty all on its own but the white-beige tones of Lightscapade really gets my heart beating like a schoolgirl with a crush. I’m just more partial to it. But both deserve a TWO THUMBS UP for the quality.

Any of you tried these Mineralize Skinfinishes? What other shades do you recommend?

 

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

6 thoughts on “MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Soft & Gentle and Lightscapade | Review

  1. Lightscapade has been on my wish list for ages. I think it’s the equivalent to the Hourglass powders but way before Hourglass launched those powders! All of my Mineralize Skinfinish powders are from their LE collections, sadly! But I do love Rio which was from the Tropical Taboo collection in 2013, it’s a blush for me rather than an all over powder.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I remember that collection! I actually considered getting Lust and Rio as well but this was before I appreciated highlighters so it sold out before I made any decision. Haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

