Givenchy Poudre Lumière Originelle | Review

Givenchy Poudre Lumiere Originelle

I wasn’t going to post this review but I’ve got way too many unfinished drafts sitting in my folder so I’ll get this done seeing as it’s still available in Sephora.

You all have read reviews of the Givenchy Poudre Lumière Originelle awhile back and this is just me putting my two cents in, only a few months too late. Heh.

LA RÉVÉLATION ORIGINELLE

WITH THIS NEW COLLECTION, NICOLAS DEGENNES TELLS THE STORY OF HOW AN ANGELIC BEAUTY IS CREATED. AN IDEA OF INNOCENCE WITH UNIVERSAL VITALITY. THE GIVENCHY WOMAN WILL DEFINE HER OWN AURA, LIKE AN ENHANCING HALO TO REVEAL HER ZEST FOR LIFE. THE LIGHT OF THE DIVINE, THE LIGHT OF THE DIVA.

LET THERE BE LIGHT

An illuminating and mat compact powder that provides pure light without any textured effect. Its ultra-soft formula blends undetectably to enhance the complexion’s radiance and maintain fresh-looking skin with an imperceptible finish. This powder comes in a fascinating and delicate design inspired by the refined beauty of Givenchy’s Haute Couture lace.

The Review:

Givenchy Poudre Lumiere Originelle2

The Poudre Lumière Originelle is encased in a black plastic square compact with its own mirror. It opens with a simple click of a button to find one of the most beautifully designed pattern in the makeup world. Right, I stared at it for so long the first time I opened it. It really is a Givenchy product. Right down to the price.

But let’s get really down to it. Frankly, it didn’t do anything noticeable the first time I used it. And even now, sometimes, I’m still waiting for any kind of luminescent effect just in case it might happen. The finish is mostly matte and I can’t see any kind of radiance whatsoever.

Now don’t get me wrong. I love the packaging and I love the filigree design on the pan. Heck, it hurts me everytime I have to dip my brush in the pan. But seriously, it seems completely different from the product description. At the very least, there should’ve been a subtle highlighting effect, right? Maybe the label ‘lumiere‘ is misleading because I initially thought it to be a highlighter. I firmly believe it would be more suited to be called a finishing powder instead of a highlighter.

Givenchy Poudre Lumiere Originelle swatch

It’s disappointing to think that a product promising to enhance the complexion’s radiance doesn’t have that effect. Especially coming from a high-end brand. I had high hopes for this powder but it was a total let down. Even if I am a limited edition collector, I wouldn’t have bought this if I had known beforehand how it was in real life. But if you’re still in love with the Poudre Lumière Originelle despite this, then you can still grab one at Sephora for $57.

What did you think of this  powder from Givenchy?

 

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

3 thoughts on “Givenchy Poudre Lumière Originelle | Review

  1. Pingback: 2016 In Review: Hits, Misses, Empties and Pans | Girl Behind the Glasses

Leave a Reply

