MAC Heaux Lipstick In An Amplified Finish | Review

MAC Heaux2

Hey guys, I’m going to sneak in a few posts before the year ends. I’ve got drafts waiting to be finished. I haven’t been active the past weeks mostly because of different gatherings, dinners and of course, there’s the holidays in general to deal with. Oh and I was out of the country for a few days during Christmas itself. I’ll write about that soon.

But now, I’ll be talking about one of the lipsticks I took with me on that trip.

MAC Cosmetics has re-released Heaux lipstick once again as part of the Velux A Trois Collection. I was so in love with the color of the lipstick before that I had to get the re-promoted shade.

And this time I think it has a better formula but what about the shade itself?

The Collection:

Veluxe A Trois

Veluxe Pearlfusion Shadow – the innovative eye shadow that made your eyes pop in more ways than one – is now available in a trio with six new palettes. Complete your look with either Haute & Naughty Too Black Lash or Haute & Naughty Waterproof Lash, along with a lip selection from our corresponding collection of Lipstick and Cremesheen Glass shades. M∙A∙C makes your eyes sparkle all over again with Veluxe à Trois.

The Review:

MAC Heaux

Heaux is described as a berry with an amplified finish. Originally it was released in a retro matte formula as part of the Riri Hearts MAC Summer Collection for Summer 2013. (You all remember the craziness that came with that collection? Pure madness, I tell you.) It is a dark berry with a bit of warmth in my opinion. It’s not exactly cool-toned as I had expected or as red as I would have liked. In that regard, I was somewhat disappointed.

MAC Heaux swatch

It has the traditional vanilla scent that all MAC lipsticks have. Being an amplified lipstick, it has a creamier finish compared to a retro matte. This variant of Heaux has a glossy finish and lightly hydrating feel during the first hours of wear but later on, not so much. A bit drying on my lips that I need to put on a lip balm. The downside to it is its longevity on my lips as it can only last for 5 to 6 hours before fading slightly. Unlike the original shade which can go on for hours and hours on end. It does leave a nice reddish pink stain on the lips though.

MAC Heaux lip swatch

It was a MAC online exclusive but I saw this as an exclusive too in House of Fraser retailing for £15.50, where I had mine ordered thru @designerdepotph.

 

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

4 thoughts on “MAC Heaux Lipstick In An Amplified Finish | Review

Leave a Reply

