Tarte Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay Eye & Cheek Palette | Review

Tarte Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay Eye & Cheek Palette

When it comes to palettes, Tarte has some of the best I’ve used. In general, they’re pretty well put together considering the shades included. Granted, I don’t have that many. But I’m on my way to collecting a few more.

Now I want to tell you all about the Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay & Eye Palette that a friend influenced me to buy.

The Promise:

Tarte Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay Eye & Cheek Palette3

A chic eye & cheek palette infused with colored clay for endless day to play looks.

Product Performance: Inspired by the deep orchid hues of the Rainforest at dusk, this palette has everything you need to create sultry, sophisticated looks to take you from day to night. Each pigmented, flattering shade is infused with colored clay, which naturally color-corrects as it helps control oil for longer, truer wear. This next generation ingredient from the mountainous regions of Brazil brightens, evens and soothes skin while the velvety formula glides on and delivers rich color without settling into fine lines or wrinkles.

Best-selling shades include:

• bare to explore (pink beige)
• make a mauve (plum mauve)
• plum away with me (dark plum)
• up to no gold (gold)
• tan-gled up in you (tan)
• don’t turn a-brown (dark brown)
• unleashed (nude rose blush)
• champagne (highlighter)
• park ave princess™ (bronzer)

Powered By: colored clay: color-corrects as it specifically addresses individual skin & complexion concerns
• rose clay: soothes skin around the eye area
• vanilla clay: helps control oil to keep pigment in place all day
• gold clay: maintains gentle skin balance and moisture

The Review:

Tarte Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay Eye & Cheek Palette2

The Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay & Eye palette holds one highlighter, one blush, one bronzer and 6 eyeshadows in various finishes ranging from mattes to frosts with a generous sized mirror. When I first opened the compact, I initially sensed a autumnal vibe to it. Maybe it’s because of the mauve and plum shades included but I think it’s just perfect for fall and the -ber months in general.

The color descriptions are noted above. I won’t be going into the nitty gritty details in any of those as I’m sure there are a lot of reviews out there. I’ll just discuss some of the best and not so best shades in the palette.

Tarte Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay Eye & Cheek Palette5

First off, the eyeshadows work sooo well together. I really am glad I got this palette for the shades. Half of them belong to the neutral spectrum and the other half are just a mix of the loveliest shades of pinks and plums. This is how I mostly use the eyeshadows. I apply Bare To Explore as my base to get a pinkish tone and pack on Plum Away With Me on my entire lid. I then use Tan-gled Up In You as my crease color and sweep Don’t Turn A-brown on the outer v of my lid to get a smokier look. Sometimes I alternate Champagne (highlighter shade) and Up To No Gold on the inner corners of my eye.

Tarte Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay Eye & Cheek Palette swatches2

From left to right: Bare To Explore | Make A Mauve | Plum Away With Me | Up To No Gold | Tan-gled Up In You | Don’t Turn A-brown

All the eyeshadows are soft and just a tad bit powdery. They blend well into the skin and they’re all damn pigmented. Each of them lasted at least 9 hours on me without the help of any primer.

Tarte Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay Eye & Cheek Palette4

My least favorite from this palette is the blush. Tarte has had better blushes than this. Quality-wise, I mean. Unleashed is drier and the color doesn’t show up on my skin until I’ve brushed at least 3 layers of it on my cheeks. It can be a bit frustrating. And it wore at least 6-7 hours before fading. Not as long as some of the other Tarte blushes I have on hand.

Tarte Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay Eye & Cheek Palette swatches1

From left to right: Champagne | Park Ave. Princess | Unleashed

Overall, I would still recommend this palette to anyone who’s looking into buying a well-rounded palette especially if you’re looking for one you can take on your travels. Like me, I’m looking forward to bringing this compact where ever I go because it’s portable and less of a hassle. Why bring 3-4 compacts when you can just slip one into your kit right?

Have you tried any of the palettes from Tarte? How about this one?

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

2 thoughts on “Tarte Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay Eye & Cheek Palette | Review

  1. I’ve eyed Tarte’s around palettes for a couple of year now – I really like the idea of taking just one compact while travelling. But none of the versions had all the colours I’d use (the summer one had teal and oranges…) but THIS one… I just might have to! Ugh it’s limited edition too. I’m going to have to get someone to buy it for me (on no-buy lol)

    Like

  2. Pingback: My Best Products of 2015 | Girl Behind the Glasses

Leave a Reply

