Yves Saint Laurent Rouge Pur Couture The Mats in 208 Fuchsia Fetiche | Review

YSL Rouge Pur Couture The Mats Fuschia Fetiche

I seldom invest in a matte lipstick but when I do, know that I have researched on it and thought about it thoroughly before purchasing a tube. I’ll read dozens of reviews first and decide from there if the formula is good enough for my too dry lips.

Especially if it’s a high end brand like Yves Saint Laurent.

The Promise:

YSL Rouge Pur Couture The Mats Fuschia Fetiche2

The must have for the perfect matte lip look. Rich, creamy formula is infused with a velvet complex for a luxuriously smooth application, and jojoba oil for long lasting comfort. Intense color pigments for a vibrant touch of color that lasts.

The Review:

YSL Rouge Pur Couture The Mats Fuschia Fetiche3

Fuschia Fetiche is part of the Cuirs Fetiches Collection for Fall 2014 and is plainly described as an iconic Yves Saint Laurent pink. Is it really YSL’s iconic pink? I honestly don’t know but the color is simply beautiful and speaks for its own self, which is a bright, medium, cool-toned fuchsia pink. The color immediately brightens up my complexion and whitens my teeth.

It’s the creamiest matte lipstick I’ve ever worn to date. It applies smoothly over my lips with a bit of a shine. A bit surprising but after a few minutes, it settles down to a more matte finish. But the wear is still comfortable enough not to warrant frequent lip balm application during the first hours on my lips. It’s not drying like MAC’s matte finish and dare I say it, this was really hydrating.

YSL Rouge Pur Couture The Mats Fuschia Fetiche swatch

The color solidly stays for 6 hours before gradually fading. Mind you, it doesn’t totally fade from my lips but as the hours went by, the color was not as intense as it had been when I first applied it but it’s still noticeable from afar. On closer look, the shade is more muted down kind of like a stain. Not the patchy kind though. The color was still even but I can feel my lips starting to feel dry and in need of a little hydration.

The first time I wore this, the lip color went through several drinks, lunch and a light snack in the afternoon before I finally decided that it needed to be touched up. A total of 8 hours all in all. Now that’s impressive. Wouldn’t you agree?

YSL Rouge Pur Couture The Mats Fuschia Fetiche lip swatch

This may be my favorite Yves Saint Laurent lipstick among my collection. How about you, what is your favorite YSL lipstick?

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

2 thoughts on “Yves Saint Laurent Rouge Pur Couture The Mats in 208 Fuchsia Fetiche | Review

Leave a Reply

