Philosophy Hope in a Jar Night | Review

Philosophy Hope in a jar night

If you’ve noticed, I don’t talk much about skincare products. That’s because I don’t have anything new to talk about. I have a skincare routine written down to a T and I don’t plan on changing that anytime soon. It’s not like I buy new skincare, test them out a few days later and hop on to the next new item in the market.

Not like I do with makeup, anyway.

But I’d like to show you the moisturizer I use before capping off for the night.

The Promise:

Philosophy Hope in a jar night2

hope in a jar night intense retexturing moisturiser features an innovative qusome delivery system that enhances efficacy, while limiting the potential for irritation. skin is noticeably smoother, lines are visibly softened, a rosy glow is restored and results continue to improve with nightly use.

WHY WE USE IT

  • boosts nighttime renewal to retexturize skin as it plumps the appearance of fine lines and evens skin tone
  • patented qusomes help deliver potent glycolic acid deep into skin’s surface
  • formulated with gradual release technology to minimize the potential for irritation
  • overnight, 92% felt softer, comfortably hydrated skin**
  • in 2 weeks, 90% showed diminished fine lines*

*based on a once a daily use, clinical study results and the **self assessments with 48 subjects

The Review:

Philosophy Hope in a jar night3

Hope in a jar night, yes, as the name implies, simply comes in a jar. It’s not the most ideal packaging but it’s what the content that counts. It’s a thick yellowish-white cream smelling faintly of some kind of fruit. I disagreed with the strong scent when I first opened the jar but I have long since grown accustomed to it. I actually find the fruity smell soothing at night when I get ready for bed. Maybe whenever I smell it, it relays a signal to my brain telling my body that I’m about to take a rest.

Back to the topic at hand. After taking off my makeup, my skincare routine would consist of a number of steps — if I’m too knackered by the end of the day, it gets shortened down to just 4 or 5 — including applying this to my face and some on my neck. It gets absorbed by my skin pretty quick and doesn’t feel greasy at all unlike some of the night creams I’ve had before. I also would like to tell all of you that no matter what condition my skin was the night before, I would always wake up with a smoother and softer face.

Philosophy Hope in a jar night4

(Now for a little lesson in dermotology.) The key ingredient is glycolic acid, which is an alpha-hydroxy acid obtained from sugar cane and used as a chemical peeling agent in dermatologic practice. Most products in the market today will only contain 10% at most of the acid incorporated in creams or serums. Experienced dermatologists use liquid solutions containing a higher concentration in their clinics, effective for a chemical peel that will only last a few minutes. It’s particularly useful for acne, facial hyperpigmentation, freckles, wrinkles, etc. Although cosmetically beneficial, the use of these acids may cause some stinging, redness and photosensitivity. That means, you’re more prone to sunburns! So load up on sunblock, preferrably one that has at least SPF30 and without any fragrance. For anyone who wants to know, not everyone will have the same reaction to AHAs. Your skin might get irritated with just one application so you might want to slow down and apply every other night until your skin gets used to it. Or you might not have any reaction at all, like moi. But you will likely experience them if it’s your first time to use anything with alpha- hydroxy acids.

Now where was I? Oh yeah, the beauty that is the hope in a jar night. Not once did this ever fail me. Especially when I need to look my best the next day. I kid you not. I’m calling this my holy grail. TWO THUMBS UP!

A 2oz. jar is priced at $50. The 4oz. costs $78. I think it’s worth it. I have yet to know the price here in the Philippines. They are currently located in SM Megamall, Greenbelt 5 and Glorietta 4.

Have you tried Philosophy’s hope in a jar night? If not, what do you use as a moisturizer at night?

 

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

2 thoughts on “Philosophy Hope in a Jar Night | Review

  1. Fruity like banana? The first time I smelled Hope in a Jar Night, I thought it smelled like crushed leaves. Then I’m thinking slightly-oxidized banana. This line has unusual scents. I use Hope in a Jar (regular) for night, and it has the strong essential oil smell.

    Like

Leave a Reply

