Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Multi-Colour Broad Spectrum in Marinière N°02 | Review

Chanel Les Beiges Mariniere N02
I once promised to myself I’ll see what the fuss is all about regarding those Chanel Les Beiges. That was back in 2013 when Chanel first introduced them.

Fast forward to two years later. Upon hearing about the new Les Beiges and seeing pictures online, I knew I just had to make a move and grab one myself.

How’s that then? It took a limited edition collection to get my claws on that white compact. Figures. I’m a limited edition addict.

The Promise:

Chanel Les Beiges Mariniere N02 3
Lightweight, multi-colour powder offers a palette of effortless effects. Acts as a highlighter, sculpting powder, bronzer and blush — all with a sheer, natural finish and broad-spectrum sun protection.

The Review:

Chanel Les Beiges Mariniere N02 2

The Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Multi-Colour Broad Spectrum SPF 15 Sunscreen comes in a typical white Chanel square compact similar to the Les Beiges previously released. For this years summer collection, Chanel has released two limited edition shades, Marinière N°01 with its pink and beige stripes and Marinière N°02 having tan and bronze strips. The compact houses a full-sized mirror on the cover and a dome-shaped soft-bristled brush separated from the powder with a black plastic. In short, the packaging itself is reminiscent of Coco Chanel, classy and elegant.

Chanel Les Beiges Mariniere N02 4

Between the two limited edition shades, I picked up Marinière N°02 because, ahem — bronzer addict here.

Each of the colored strips can be used individually with a small tipped brush, if you have it. But I am fond of combining the two shades together when I use my trusty Real Techniques Blush Brush. Or actually, I’ve been frequently using the brush that came with the compact. The brush itself is perfect for application across my cheeks bridge of the nose, forehead and chin. It’s not scratchy nor irritating on my sensitive skin. As you can see from my swatch below, when combined together, the end shade is a golden tan that’s slightly warm-toned with some fine shimmers.

The powder is so finely milled and extremely soft with sheer but buildable pigmentation. The first time I used this, I was a tad bit disappointed. I was used to my other bronzers that I was expecting a warm glow on my face with just one layer. I set it aside and went back to using my usual bronzers but after a week of lemming, I tried again and was pleasantly surprised to note how it gives me a warmth that’s not over-the-top and a slight brightening effect. I can further describe it as a healthy glow without looking too much like a bronzer. (Is there even such a thing?) I doubt anyone will overdo bronzing themselves up with its sheerness.

Chanel Les Beiges Mariniere N02 swatch

There is a light floral scent to the powder that goes away upon application. I don’t mind the scent as I find it quite favorable. But for those who have a sensitive nose, you might want to try smelling it out first before purchasing it. I would have wanted to use this as a setting powder but unfortunately, my oily skin forbids it. While it stays on my skin practically the whole day, it doesn’t hold off the oils on my face to the same extent. And yeah, it doesn’t have a mattifying finish to begin with. So I’ll settle with using it as finishing powder instead.

Overall, I found a new love with the Les Beiges and I’m willing to try the Healthy Glow Sheer Colour if the quality is just as good. If you want a powder that’ll give you a subtle but natural looking glow because diving head first into a bronzer intimidates you, well Chanel has definitely got your back. The Les Beiges Healthy Glow Multi-Colour in Marinière N°02 definitely deserves a TWO THUMBS UP from me.

Have you tried this limited edition Les Beiges from Chanel?

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

3 thoughts on “Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Multi-Colour Broad Spectrum in Marinière N°02 | Review

  1. Pingback: My Best Products of 2015 | Girl Behind the Glasses

Leave a Reply

