L’Oreal Colour Riche Collection Star Matte Reds in Pure Vermeil and Pure Scarleto | Review

L'Oreal Color Riche Collection Star Matte Reds2

A girl can never have enough lipstick. You with me on that one? Okay.

Nor can a girl limit herself to only one shade of red lipstick. (In my opinion, at least.)

Well that being said. You can never fault me for buying 2 tubes of the new L’Oreal Colour Riche Collection Star Matte Reds when I saw them at a L’Oreal display in PCX in the Powerplant Mall Makati.

L'Oreal Color Riche Collection Star Matte Reds

The Review:

11705189_10153411161807177_7011986210634051374_n

From R to L: Pure Fire, Pure Brick, Pure Amaranthe, Pure Vermeil, Pure Scarleto, Pure Rouge, Pure Ruby, Pure Garnet

L'OréalParis-PureReds-Collection-#GoRouge-Fashionopolis-Amena

Image via Fashionopolis

You may be asking, are they the same as the ones launched in the UK and US?

L'Oreal Color Riche Collection Star Matte Reds3

Probably not in every aspect. The packaging is sure as hell different but for some of the shades, I certainly hope for some similarity because I wanted to get Blake’s Red since I first saw it on Vivianna Does Makeup.

L'Oreal Color Riche Collection Star Matte Reds Pure Vermeil

Pure Vermeil (Fan Bing Bing’s red) is described as a coral pink with a red undertone. I, however, will describe it as medium coral red. Plain and simple. Although it does appear to have some pink undertones in my swatch below.

L'Oreal Color Riche Collection Star Matte Reds Pure Vermeil swatch

~*~

L'Oreal Color Riche Collection Star Matte Reds Pure Scarleto

Pure Scarleto (Blake Lively’s red) is described as scarlet red with pink undertones. (Again with the pink, sighs.) I can’t see any pink but it looks more like a neutral red with some warm undertones.

L'Oreal Color Riche Collection Star Matte Reds Pure Scarleto swatch

Both are smooth and creamy enough to apply. They offer medium to full pigmentation with just a single swipe. I initially had doubts whether these are really mattes because they didn’t dry out my lips at all. I should be jumping for joy right? The opportunity to wear a matte without worrying about the consequences and pain of chapped lips is smack dab right in front of my face and I was questioning it.

These didn’t emphasise the dry patches on my lips too. I can wear them without the help of a balm and they last up to at least five hours before the color starts to fade. Now that’s an impressive feat for a drugstore brand. Almost comparable to some high-ends I would say.

L'Oreal Color Riche Collection Star Matte Reds swatches

Out of these 2, I prefer wearing Pure Vermeil because of the coral. Yep, I’m biased. If you know me and my undying love for that shade, you would have guessed that right from the start. As for Pure Scarleto, no it didn’t match the shade released in the UK. Bummer. But for the formula and quality of these lipsticks, I’d like to give L’Oreal a TWO THUMBS UP. Good job you guys.

Anyway, each tube retails for Php 400 at all L’oreal kiosks in the country.

Have you tried these Matte Reds from L’oreal?

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

11 thoughts on “L’Oreal Colour Riche Collection Star Matte Reds in Pure Vermeil and Pure Scarleto | Review

  1. I’ve been using Pure Rouge for the past few days, and I absolutely love it!:) I was CLOSE to getting Pure Vermeil, but I didn’t like the tiny hint of pink there. Pure Rouge has just been the bomb.:)

    You’re right about how it doesn’t dry lips out!:)

    Like

  2. buti nalang u mentioned that the scarletto that we have here is diff from the one in UK. i saw the ad and asked the sa to point out blakes lipstick shade. she said scarletto but when i swatched it iba sa pic 😦 i thought maybe she made a mistake of remembering which color is it. i also wanna try the darkest shade they have mukang cute ^^

    Like

Leave a Reply

