MAC Victoriana Lipstick | Review

MAC Victoriana lipstick3

I know I’m late in reviewing this lipstick but whatever. I’m quite into reds at the moment so now’s a good time to share with you my fondness for one of the lipsticks in the MAC x Isabel and Ruben Toledo collection.  

Won’t you click more to find out?

The Collection:

spring2015_mactoledos001 Fashion’s most romantic couple, Isabel and Ruben Toledo, are renowned for their award-winning and imaginative work in fashion design and illustration This unique collaboration with MAC pair’s Isabel’s sensational penchant for colour with Ruben’s vibrant energy in a palette of hues designed to sculpt, paint and transform the face. Specially designed white packaging features Ruben’s illustrations, an array of graphic lines and red-lipped faces brought to life with his one-of-a-kind aesthetic.

MAC Victoriana lipstick2

The Review:

MAC Victoriana lipstick

Victoriana is described as a midtone pink red with a matte finish. It’s a gorgeous cool-toned red that makes a statement all on its own. It’s a red I can wear when I want to look confident. After all, I find it easier to wear cool-toned reds rather than warm-toned ones. I can’t find any pink undertones when I wear it but on the swatch below on my arm, you can see hints of pink. On my lips though, it’s a straight up red!

MAC Victoriana lipstick4

For a matte lipstick, it doesn’t tug on my lips on application. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Most limited edition lipsticks of MAC have a creamier formula as compared to their permanent shades. This was relatively easier to put on and the pigmentation was off the charts (It should be!). It lasts me a whole day from morning to evening, with snacks, drinks and greasy meals in between, with no reapplication whatsoever.

MAC Victoriana lipstick swatch

Did it dry out my lips? Well yeah, it did but not so much that I’d frequently apply lip balm. Actually, the first time I wore it, I didn’t prep my lips at all. I only applied a balm before putting it on and I was expecting my lips to start peeling or cracking after a few hours of wear.

But they didn’t. Huh, imagine that.

IMG_20150718_122701

Have these lips of mine finally stood up to a MAC matte lipstick?

I don’t know but I want them to. Badly. One of the greatest benefits of wearing a matte lipstick is not worrying about whether your lip color is still intact by midday. And not risking any kind of migration issues too.

Thank the makeup gods that I was still able to find a tube of Victoriana from a reseller online. I bought it from PrettyLittleThingsShopByWG for Php 1,350.

How about you, do you love wearing red lipsticks?

 

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

12 thoughts on “MAC Victoriana Lipstick | Review

  1. this is the first time im noticing how voluptuous your lips really are nikki, gandaaa 🙂 i skipped on this collection cause the illustration. it makes me feel eerie hehe. its nice but its mala alice and wonderland and i have childhood issues with that story lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

