An Irresistible Fuchsia: The Givenchy Le Rouge Couture Edition | Review

Givenchy Le Rouge Couture Edition3

If at the moment you cannot afford a designer clutch, my advice is to go for the next best thing.

I say, go get the limited edition lipstick dressed with the very same packaging. Like when I lusted after the Givenchy Antigona Floral Pouch last year but I knew it was damn impossible for me to ever have one.

Givenchy Antigona Floral Pouch

 

Image from Damsel in Dior

I’ve moved on but Givenchy is has given us ladies another chance to experience the real thing once more. 

The Promise:

Givenchy Le Rouge Couture Edition

Givenchy Le Make Up bring together fashion and beauty with the limited edition Le Rouge Couture lipstick. Adorned in the signature Givenchy couture floral pattern in rich, genuine leather. This iconic velvety, semi-matte, intensely pigmented lipstick dresses up lips in a vibrant fuchsia for spring.

The Review:

Givenchy Le Rouge Couture Edition2
How can you say no to this piece of beauty?

As was mentioned above, the leather packaging in this limited edition Le Rouge mirrors the famous floral pattern of Givenchy purses. I don’t need to tell you how much lovely it looks in real life. There are actually 2 shades released in the floral leather bullet but nothing new. I’m just glad I have neither one or else that would have been a waste of money.

In the UK, it was Rose Dressing (202) which is a bright coral pink. You can read all about it from Sunny, one of my favorite beauty bloggers. I would have preferred this one instead as it’s a coral (my favorite!) but the makeup gods know that I would snatch up this lipstick eventually, limited edition packaging or not.

The one available in the US and the one I was able to get my hands on is Fuchsia Irressistible (205) which is described as a vibrant fuchsia. I can’t refute it with other words as the description is true to reality. It’s a bright, hot cool-toned pink with a satin finish that brightens up my complexion immediately whenever I wear it. I love wearing it during crazy night outs with my girlfriends. Very empowering too, might I add.

Givenchy Le Rouge Couture Edition swatch

The shade is opaque with a single swipe. The formula is heavenly creamy and comfortably light as the rest of the Le Rouges but not so creamy that it goes outside the lip lines after a few hours. I don’t bother with any lip balm before I wear it because I know it can handle the dessert-like dryness of my lips. It’s moisturizing like that. I can practically wear it the whole day too as it lasts on me for at least 8 hours and it leaves a lovely pink stain for a couple more.

Givenchy Le Rouge Couture Edition lip swatch

If you’ve been following me and reading my blog for some time now, you’d know how much I love the Le Rouge line. The formula is hands down one of the best I’ve ever tried. I’ve turned a blind eye on the price tag several times because each new tube is worth every damn penny I shell out.

For all of you asking, it’s still available in Sephora for $36. Grab one before it sells out again!

Did you manage to get this limited edition?

 

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

4 thoughts on “An Irresistible Fuchsia: The Givenchy Le Rouge Couture Edition | Review

  1. Pingback: Quarterly Product Round Up for 2015 | Girl Behind the Glasses

Leave a Reply

