Guerlain KissKiss Shaping Cream Lip Colour in Red Hot #328 | Review

Guerlain KissKiss Shaping Cream Lip Colour 328 Red Hot2

There was a time last year when all the I ever wanted to wear were either berries and berry-toned shades. You should’ve seen my wish list then. I had written down at least one berry shade from brands I wanted to try from drugstore to the deep, high end.

Thank the heavens I have more self-control now because I would’ve spent bucks and bucks on lipstick tubes if I just splurged. That doesn’t mean I didn’t, by the way. In fact, I bought one of the Guerlain KissKiss Lip Colours that looks berry-ish in several online swatches. Here’s my take on it.

The Promise:

Guerlain KissKiss Shaping Cream Lip Colour 328 Red Hot

KissKiss surprises us once again by slipping into a precious and graceful little black dress. Its understated case shows off infinitely elegant curves. A tube transformed into a work of art, a sculptural jewel developed like three sleek cubes. Simply chic!In perfect harmony with feminine curves, lips immediately regain their fullness and softness thanks to a formula enriched with plumping hyaluronic acid spheres. In parallel, Commiphora oil helps smooth the lip surface.The elegance of a timeless essential.

Its subtle vanilla-violet fragrance delicately intertwines with the sparkling scent of berries.

The KissKiss routine:
1. Apply Liplift before lipstick and slightly beyond the lip contour, then blend in with the fingertips.
2. Draw the shape of the lips with the Stylo Lèvres.
3. Apply KissKiss directly to the lips.

The Review:

Guerlain KissKiss Shaping Cream Lip Colour 328 Red Hot3

The Guerlain KissKiss Shaping Cream Lip Colour is actually a revamped version of the old Kiss Kiss lipstick and it now comes in a luxurious, black lacquered tube instead of gold, with the same stacked-block design (by the famous Herve van der Straeten, yo). Honestly, I think the old golden tube is more luxurious — duh, it’s gold — but I’ve got to give the guys behind the brand some more credit.

Taking a second, closer look, doesn’t the black and gold combination of the newer packaging give it a classier and sleek look? I know you all will agree with me. Uncap the tube and the words ‘KISS KISS’ will be seen embossed on the lipstick.

Guerlain KissKiss Shaping Cream Lip Colour 328 Red Hot4

Red Hot #328 is a dark berry red on the tube but on me looks like a neutral red instead, leaning slightly cool. It has a glossy finish and applies with more slip than I expected. Must be the mango butter and hyaluronic spheres in effect. It’s slightly hydrating and not at all drying. Pigmentation is somewhere between sheer and medium coverage. It takes me at least 2-3 swipes on the lips before I get the colour you’ll see on the swatch below.

Guerlain KissKiss Shaping Cream Lip Colour 328 Red Hot swatch

It took a while for me to love the colour. Honestly, I’m still hoping that it’ll take a trick of the light one of these days to transform it to the berry shade I’ve always seen in others. Yes, I was disappointed the first time I tried it on but it’s hard not to fall in love with the formula. It’s so comfortable on my lips that I tend to forget I have dry ones. I don’t reach for any lip balm when I wear this and it doesn’t tug or pull at my lips when I apply it. Lasts me for 4-5 hours though. It doesn’t take a look in the mirror to know I have to reapply by lunch time. Meh, I can manage. I always prefer comfort over longevity any time.

Guerlain KissKiss Shaping Cream Lip Colour 328 Red Hot lip swatch
Not at all berry-looking right?

But all hope is not lost. I’ll wait for the time when they’ll add a more berry-toned shade to the range. You won’t let me down Guerlain, will you? You never have.

The Guerlain KissKiss Shaping Cream Lip Colour retails for Php 1950 at Rustan’s Shangri-la and Makati in the Philippines and $37 in the US.

Have you tried the new KissKiss Lip Colours? Which ones did you pick?
name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

9 thoughts on “Guerlain KissKiss Shaping Cream Lip Colour in Red Hot #328 | Review

Leave a Reply

