Lovemarc Lip Gel in Seduce Me (128) | Review

Marc Jacobs Beauty Lovemarc Lip Gel 128 Seduce Me2

I know it seemed like I suddenly dropped off the face of the blogging community but I swear I haven’t. I’m going to sound like a broken record but everything has been crazy at work. Like, CRAZY. It has completely taken over every waking hour of my life at the moment. So much so that haven’t properly celebrated my birthday last month. Sad, I know.

Depressing thoughts aside, I’m indulging myself by writing down this post while I’m still able to. Let me show you my Lovemarc Lip Gel.

The Promise:

Marc Jacobs Beauty Lovemarc Lip Gel 128 Seduce Me
Irresistible feel. Kissable color. Habit-forming.

Fall in love with gellified lipstick. Silky and creamy, full of color-saturated, pure pigments, this long-wear lipstick has a texture so irresistible, it tempts you to touch. With a sleek shine finish, the multitasking lip gel hydrates and moisturizes delicate lips. Subtly scented with vanilla, Lovemarc will be your new object of desire.

The Review:

Marc Jacobs Beauty Lovemarc Lip Gel 128 Seduce Me3

The Lovemarc Lip Gels come in an all-black, chic, plastic tube with a magnetic closure cap with the words ‘Marc Jacobs’ embossed on the cap. It has a bit of heft to it but the feel certainly translates to luxury and not at all awkward like a dead weight in my makeup kit. The overall packaging alone, black-and-white box included, is worth every buck I spent on this tube.

Marc Jacobs Beauty Lovemarc Lip Gel 128 Seduce Me4

Seduce Me (128) is described as a berry red. It’s a creamy, medium, cool-based, berry red hinting at some pink undertones with a slight glossy finish. The pigmentation is superb and very opaque. A single swipe on the lips is enough to impart that lovely pigment giving you somewhat a healthier look. The application part is my favourite bit about this lipstick. See, I am more dehydrated now working in a hospital as compared to when I was just in a clinic — I keep forgetting to drink as much water as I can. As a result, my lips are more chapped and flaky than usual. Usually, when I wear any lipstick I would apply a balm first then apply my preferred lip colour (except when I use a Givenchy Le Rouge, because those are creamy and hydrating enough). I’m delighted to share with you that I can wear Seduce Me without using a balm beforehand! And it doesn’t emphasize any dry areas on my lips. That goes to show how hydrating the gel-like formula is.

Marc Jacobs Beauty Lovemarc Lip Gel 128 Seduce Me swatch

It has light vanilla scent that is discernible from MAC’s. The claim is supposedly boasting a long-wearing formula but in my experience, it only lasts me at least four hours before I have to reapply. I keep wishing it can last longer instead every time I use it. Honestly, I don’t mind the frequent reapplication because no matter how dry my lips get, every time I put this on, my lips look loads better. Just take a look below.

Marc Jacobs Beauty Lovemarc Lip Gel 128 Seduce Me lip swatch

If you look closely, you can see the dry areas on my lips but in reality, they are barely noticeable. All thanks to this lip gel.

I would have given this formula and shade a two thumbs up if not for the longevity issue. Anyway, for the people behind the Marc Jacobs Beauty line, you came really close. Keep up the good work!

Each Lovemarc Lip Gel retails for $30 in the US. However, I’m a little confused about the availability of this range in Sephora. The shades they listed online, which are only four, are all currently out of stock. I haven’t heard any news whether these will be discontinued and I dearly hope against it. I really love the formula and I don’t mind trying out another shade.

 

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

3 thoughts on “Lovemarc Lip Gel in Seduce Me (128) | Review

  1. belated happy birthday nikki! aw if i had all the money in the world id buy you every designer lipstick there is, i feel like its one of the main beauty things that you like. anyway thanks for mentioning that this has scent. im intrigued by this line in the shade showstopper but i really dislike lipsticks that has scents so i think im gonna skip on this πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Quarterly Product Round Up for 2015 | Girl Behind the Glasses

Leave a Reply

