Best of My 2014 Product Round Up

The past year has been amazing. I met people online and offline who are just as addicted to makeup as I am. I, the girl behind her glasses, am extremely thankful to everyone who has taken their time to visit my little corner on the web, liked my posts and commented.

Now, what beauty blog would this be if I don’t list down the most amazing finds I have discovered in 2014? So sit back, relax, grab a cup of tea or hot cocoa, perhaps some biscuits too if you want. Here they are, the best of the best products, in my opinion at least. 😉

FACE

Best of 2014 face products

Primer:

When long hours at work are inevitable and I have to plunge my head on multiple tasks/errands and deadlines, I only trust the Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer (review) to make my makeup last until late into the night. Or when, you know, there’s no time to reapply my makeup for after-work dinner and drinks. In second place is the Purely Cosmetics Oil Absorb Powder (review). Sometimes, I add a little dusting of it if I feel I’m going to be exposed to a more humid environment. It does help in keeping the oilies away for a few more hours.

Foundation:

Nothing has beaten my favorite Koh Gen Do Aqua Foundation (review) so far. It’s my default foundation to date. Though sometimes I may pick up the Hourglass Veil Makeup (review) or the Diorsnow BB Creme (review) on the weekends.

Concealer:

I have never looked for another concealer since I came upon the Collection Cosmetics Lasting Perfection Concealer (review) . I want to try others but for now I’m satisfied with the full coverage and wear time it offers.

Setting/Finishing Powder:

There was a time when all I raved about was this Purely Cosmetics Diamond Perfect Finish Powder (review). Just because you don’t read it every so often here doesn’t mean I forgot all about it. Au contraire, this pot of gold has been with me everyday stashed in my bag.

 

CHEEKS

Best of 2014 cheek products

Blush:

There’s only one blush that got top marks in all areas and that’s the Chanel Crème Blush de Chanel (Intonation, Cheeky). The pigmentation, longevity and product consistency is worth its price tag and more. Coming in close are the Clinique Cheek Pops (review) and the suprisingly good but cheap, Catrice Defining Blush (review). The difference with those three is how I can easily use my fingers with Chanel and seeing as it comes with its own mirrored compact, I can just pop it open, reapply and I’m all set. No need for a separate brush.

Bronzer:

One of the first Guerlain products I’ve tried and already, I’m in love with the Guerlain Terracotta Sun Celebration Bronzing Powder & Blush (review). It only took the words ‘limited edition’ and a beautiful embossed pan to make the purchase. But not everything in my world of bronzers are high end because I’ve also been enamoured with  the Topshop Bronzer in Mohawke (review). These two continuously warm up my fair skin.

Highlighter:

I haven’t met any like the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette (review). My absolute favorite powder to apply on the tops of my cheekbones, bridge of my nose and brow bone is the Incandescent Light. I hope one day Hourglass will add the shade to their individual, regular-sized compacts. I will definitely buy it after I’m through with the one in the palette.

 

EYES

Best of 2014 eye products

Eyeshadow:

Matte, neutral eyeshadows are one of my weaknesses. And the Viseart Neutral Matte Eyeshadow Palette (review) is the answer to all my matte needs. But not all my of my favourite eyeshadow finds of the year are matte. I have also been interested in a select few provided they are neutrally toned, like the MAC Nude Quad (review) from the Pedro Lourenço collection, the Catrice Absolute Eye Colour Mono Eyeshadow (My First Copperware Party) (review) and the NARSissist Eye Palette (review).

If ease of application is what you’re seeking, then I highly suggest the Laura Mercier Caviar Sticks (review). You won’t regret it. I had the chance to try out 6 of their shades in their recently released holiday collection.

Best of 2014 eye products2

Eyeliner:

Urban Decay makes the best eye pencils out there, don’t you agree? And their latest Perversion Eyeliners are no exception to the statement. What I have with me is the All Nighter Eyeliner (review) that’s waterproof and budge-proof. For a cheaper alternative, I’ve been using the Etude House Play 101 Pencils (review) which offers a range of 50 shades. They come in a variety of greys, nudes, pinks, oranges, reds, blues, greens and browns, and can be used for just about anything. From eyeshadow base to blush to lip colour, they have it!

Mascara:

Affordable and just as good as the others, Maybelline has proven to the world that their mascaras can stand up on its own. I’ve gone through several Magnum Volum’ Express Waterproof Mascara (review) just this year alone, which reminds me, I should stop by the mall soon because I’m due for a new tube. The one I have is about to dry out on me.

Brow Product:

If we’re talking ease and speed of application, then the Shu Uemura Hard Formula Hard 9 (Seal Brown #2) (review) wins in my book. Although I can never forget the days when I was under the thrall of the Anastasia Dipbrow Pomade (Chocolate) (review) that I doubled it as a gel eyeliner too. I bet using them together will be phenomenal!

 

LIPS

Best of 2014 lip products2

Lipstick:

I don’t need to explain myself with this one. The Givenchy Le Rouge (reviews) has exceeded all my expectations over and over again for as long as I can remember. I may have only a few tubes, majority of them limited editions, but I know I want to buy every one of them. However, the Guerlain Rouge G de Guerlain (review) is also worth mentioning if only they don’t cost so much moolah. Lastly, the Limecrime Velvetines (review) made a strong and long-lasting impression on me the first time I tried it.

Best of 2014 lip products

Lip Balm:

In terms of hydration and the top spot still belongs to Dior Addict Lip Glow. It’s my utter favourite and even if I keep on buying and trying other cheaper tube alternatives, I always go back and end up comparing them with this.

Lip Gloss:

I don’t have a lot to choose from but then again, I’m not a gloss girl to begin with. If ever I’m in the mood to push the glossy factor higher, I will choose the Maybelline Lip Polishes (review). No runner-ups for this category. I haven’t encountered any gloss that’s non sticky and highly pigmented.

 

TOOLS

Best of 2014 tools products

Brush:

Once I’ve discovered the key to creating smokey eye looks all comes down to the eye brushes I’ve been using, I’ve become addicted to finding the best for my eye shape. Nothing beats Hakuhodo for sure but a certain local brand, Beauty Cosmetics (not in photos), with its cheaper price and soft-bristled brushes is making its rounds nationwide. Coming in close to Hakuhodo is the German brand, Zoeva (review). I definitely foresee more purchases from these 3 brands in the coming year.

Eyelash Curler:

To curl my short lashes, I’ve just upgraded to the Shu Uemura Eyelash S curler as opposed to last year’s classic lash curler.

~*~

I know there are products out there, loads more, that I missed out on but that’s what this year is for. Exploring more brands and trying more products! So I’m heading back to my bat cave for now and re-checking my list to see which ones I can cross off and which ones I will have to add — hopefully, there are only a few things.

So, what products impressed you last year? Share it with me, pretty please.

ETA: (01/03/15) My favorite lip balm and mascara. 🙂

 

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

9 thoughts on “Best of My 2014 Product Round Up

  1. OMG lotsa good products. I am missing a lot from your list but looking forward to try them all this year. (gastos!) haha! 🙂 Your blog is def one of the best, and I love to read all the time. Take care always!

    Like

  2. Whooa I love all your picks and most of these are on my wishlist / to-buy list! I have the viseart too and it’s currently my fave palette for my brides! I love your lippies btw! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

