Hourglass Veil Fluid Makeup

Hourglass Veil Fluid Makeup

This particular foundation has been sitting in my vanity table for a few months now. I was given a sample at the start of the year and was immediately impressed when I first tried it on. So during a Sephora sale, I ordered this thru a friend. However, that was before I discovered Koh Gen Do.

Click  more to find out if I was still as impressed the first time around. 

The Promise:

Hourglass Veil Fluid Makeup2

A concentrated treatment foundation with remarkable short- and long-term benefits. Powered by Matrix Regeneration Complex, an Hourglass proprietary compound, Veil Fluid Makeup targets the signs of aging by helping alleviate the appearance of wrinkles over time, and creates a natural radiant complexion. UVA/UVB SPF 15 helps protect skin from the sun. Available in 11 shades.

Hourglass Veil Fluid Makeup3

Features and Benefits:
• An oil-free and long-wearing treatment foundation that helps counter the signs of aging.
• Matrix Regeneration Complex stimulates the skin matrix by addressing collagen production.
• This advanced, serum-like formula is equivalent to an extension of your skincare regimen.
• The natural radiant finish looks like a second skin—as if you’re not wearing foundation.
• Broad spectrum SPF 15 sun protection.

The Review:

Hourglass Veil Fluid Makeup4

The Hourglass Veil Fluid Makeup comes in a mahogany brown plastic bottle with a pump. The material of the bottle is a magnet for fingerprints as you can see in some of the photos. For some reason, the pump in my bottle took a long time to dispense the product. And I mean long. I’m not talking about pumping for hours on end without any product coming out of the nozzle. It was days! I actually thought the pump I got was not working at all. During the first few days I was constantly pushing at the pump in the hopes that the foundation will come out. Eventually I gave up and began opening the bottle itself to get the foundation. But lo and behold, I tried the pump again soon after that and out came the product.

Now that we’ve established that the pump is indeed working, let me get to the actual product review.

Hourglass Veil Fluid Makeup5

The shade I purhcased online is the lightest in the range, No.0 Porcelain described as very fair with neutral to warm undertones, which I think is equivalent to the Porcelain shade of their Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation — not the lightest in that range, however.

The foundation has quite a runny consistency making it easy to blend the product on your skin. Porcelain matches my exact skin tone and imparts a lovely “skin-like finish but better” after it has been blended. It has a light to medium build able coverage but doesn’t look cakey even if more layers are added. I only need half a pump to cover my entire face. On normal skin, it can be used without any setting powder but as I have an oily skin, I powdered on areas I know will oil up early on. My t-zone was a bit shiny, a lovely, tolerable dewiness mind you, by the 4th hour but I shouldered on without blotting to see how long I can go. After the 8th hour, I was stunned to see the same level of dewiness. No, I did not oil up any further. I’ve also skipped on using a primer several times to see how it would last and I’m pleased to report that it was still there after the 10th hour.

Hourglass Veil Fluid Makeup Porcelain swatch

In comparison to the infamous KGD, this foundation looks more skin like. However if you’re looking for a more matte finish, I’d suggest KGD — not to say entirely that KGD is matte. Both of them have the same coverage and more or less last the same number of hours with or without any primer.

Retailing for $60 from Hourglass online or Sephora. Has anyone else tried this foundation?

 

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

3 thoughts on “Hourglass Veil Fluid Makeup

  1. Pingback: Best of My 2014 Product Round Up | Girl Behind the Glasses

Leave a Reply

