Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquers in Aurora and Big Bang

Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquer

Okay, I don’t think I need to introduce the Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquer to you guys.

By now, I know you’re familiar with them and know them as the US version of the Apocalips Lip Lacquer from the UK.

And I’m sure you all have read a whole lot of reviews about these lip products over and over and over again.

But it doesn’t matter, I’m going to contribute to the beauty blogging community and put my two cents in. 

The Promise:

Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquer2

It’s the end of colour as you know it! 
The intense rich colour of a lipstick, enhanced by a satin smooth shine. 

It’s neither a lipstick nor a gloss… It’s BIGGER than both! 

LONG LIVE THE COLOUR!

The Review:

Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquer3

The Show Off Lip Lacquers are in these plastic tubes with a clear  strip in the middle that will indicate if it has already been opened or not. Once the applicator is pulled out, the lacquer visibly accumulates in the clear area. But if you don’t see the lip color there, then congratulations, it hasn’t been tampered with.

Its doe foot applicator has a hollow space within that can scoop out the product generously so you don’t need to dip the wand back and forth into the tube. The applicator itself is also perfect for filling in the lips. Now let’s talk about the scent. Maybe I’m weird and all but I swear every time I put the applicator near my nose, a plate of fresh garden salad without any kind of dressing immediately registers in my mind. I’ve read many times over that it has funky fruity scent but no one has ever described it smelling like vegetables. (Yeah, I could be that weird.) Doesn’t bother me anyhow.

Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquer Aurora Big Bang swatch

Aurora is a warm pink and Big Bang is a bright red. I’m guessing they are part liquid lipstick and part gloss. I mean, they have glossy finishes but the color payoff is as intense as any pigmented lipstick. Both shades are fully opaque with a single pass and no build up is necessary at all. I find they don’t dry my lips at all despite never prepping with a balm beforehand. They’re in fact slightly hydrating. They don’t have that tacky-icky-sticky feeling that comes with most glosses (especially when you smack your lips together). The gloss comes off in 2 hours or so, earlier if there’s food and drinks involved and they last for about 4-6 hours with the darker shade lasting longer, stain and all.

What else? Oh, they don’t seem to settle into lip lines nor do they emphasize any dry patches. Definite plus points.

Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquer Aurora lip swatch
Aurora

 

Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquer Big Bang lip swatch
Big Bang

 

My favorite between the two is Aurora because it turns into this lovely coral shade every time I put it on. It’s been a constant among the lip products I have on rotation. I was actually wearing it when I posted my very first FOTD here.

I really want to get my hands on Stellar and Apocaliptic. Those just look good.

I’m tempted to give these a two-thumbs up but the wear time is holding me back a little. But otherwise, everything else was amazing. Long live the color indeed!

 

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

12 thoughts on “Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquers in Aurora and Big Bang

    • What shade was that Victoria?

      Matte girl ka pala noh? There are only a few mattes I can stand. I heard about the new TF ones though. Nondrying daw. Gusto ko subukan haha

      Like

  1. OK, Aurora is *really* pretty! I mean, they both are, but I can definitely see why it’s your favourite. LOL @ garden salad smell! You know, I think I’d rather ger a vegetable scent than the fig one they pur in EL lipsticks…

    Like

  2. hahaha mabe its cause you like veggies more than fruits? natawa naman ako when i read that! i wanted these too but i was hoping they’d last longer, esp since the colors (at least the ones i like) are very bold shades 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

