Sonia Kashuk Limited Edition 15-Piece Brush Set

Sonia Kashuk 15th Anniversary Brushes4

The Sonia Kashuk 15-piece Professional Brush Set. Sigh. I can look at you and your purple handles, purple fibers and gold ferrules all day.

I had this set for more than 2 weeks now but I can’t fully make up my mind about them. Writing my thoughts down was harder than the time I had to review the Laura Mercier Oil-Free Foundation Primer.

But here we go. Just a few thoughts. I might or might not do a more detailed review later. I can’t promise though. Since it’s a limited edition, the chances are highly unlikely.

The Promise:

Sonia Kashuk 15th Anniversary Brushes
Sonia Kashuk 15th Anniversary Brushes3

The ultimate collection in both function and style, this comprehensive set of professional-quality brushes includes the best of the best to create a flawless face. Deep eggplant purple handles, bright radiant orchid-inspired violet bristles and chic gold trim highlight the refined aesthetic of Sonias signature style. The collection features a powder brush, blusher brush, duo fiber buffing brush, synthetic angled multipurpose brush, contour brush, foundation brush, concealer brush, blending brush, crease brush, small eye shadow brush, fluffy eye shadow brush, precision pencil brush, synthetic angled liner brush, smudge brush and spoolie for flawless and fashionable application and blending for the face, eyes and cheeks.

The Impression:

Sonia Kashuk 15th Anniversary Brushes2
Warning: I may have switched several of the eye brushes in the box.

 

The brushes are extremely soft, not scratchy or stiff. They feel so good and soft, quite relaxing when I run the bristles over my face. The purple synthetic hairs and gold ferrules are the main attraction for this set. Yes, they are beautiful to look at and wonderful to touch but my excitement was mainly for the Contour Brush and Blending Brush.

A brush set given this size needs labels on the handles and not just read on the back of the box. I can figure out what the specific brushes are used for but for anyone who has just started getting into makeup –because this set is totally made for them — labels would have been the icing and cherry on top of this purple cupcake.

I have mixed opinions about this set. Some bad, some good. I’m just going to discuss a few things at the top of my head. The Powder Brush and Blusher Brush both look alike; the latter happens to be smaller. I find it takes longer to blend blushes evenly with the Blusher Blush compared to my RT Blush Brush so I use it mainly to set my foundation — now you know that I have rendered the Powder Brush useless. The Contour Brush puts down its foot on contouring but I have to use a separate brush to blend and soften out the edges. The rest are pretty much average but I have yet to use the Foundation Brush.

Sonia Kashuk 15th Anniversary Powder Brush
Powder Brush
Sonia Kashuk 15th Anniversary Blusher Brush
Blusher Brush
Sonia Kashuk 15th Anniversary Duo Fiber Buffing Brush
Duo Fiber Buffing Brush
Sonia Kashuk 15th Anniversary Synthetic Angled Multipurpose Brush
Synthetic Angled Multipurpose Brush
Sonia Kashuk 15th Anniversary Contour Brush
Contour Brush
Sonia Kashuk 15th Anniversary Foundation Brush2
Foundation Brush

 

The eye brushes in general are less scratchy than my RT Eye Starter Set and they do an okay job of applying eyeshadows. The Crease Brush is phenomenal and so is the Synthetic Angled Liner Brush. Those I did not expect to perform so well. The latter has since become my preferred tool when I do my brows, with the Spoolie of course. The Blending Brush on the other hand doesn’t perform as well as I expected it to. (Or maybe I’m just biased towards my other blending brush.)

Sonia Kashuk 15th Anniversary Eye Brushes
From L to R: Spoolie, Smudge Brush, Synthetic Angled Liner Brush, Small Eyeshadow Brush, Precision Smudge Brush,Β Crease Brush,Β Concealer Brush, Fluffy Eyeshadow Brush, Blending Brush

 

And they shed. When I took them out of the box, they shed. When I felt how dense they are the first time, they shed. Thankfully, by the time I had began washing them to get rid of the plastic smell, they were all shed out. Not that they shed a lot. Mind you, it was only a few hairs.

Do you need this? Honestly, if you’ve already got your Sigma and MAC brushes, I don’t think this will impress you that much. If Sigma gets a 10/10 from me on brushes, this set will probably score a 7.5/10. For $39.99, I maintain that this set is more suitable for anyone who’s only getting into makeup recently and wants a 40-dollar-set instead of a 40-dollar-brush.

Did any of you have this set? What did you think of it?

 

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

26 thoughts on “Sonia Kashuk Limited Edition 15-Piece Brush Set

  1. This set looks absolutely pretty! And I admit that I wanted them mainly for decorative purposes hahaha. Since I love purple so much, I cannot just look away from such pretty-looking brushes. It just sucks that it’s hard to find an online seller that carries this particular set here 😦 Pero okay na rin, less gastos for me haha. Anyway, too bad about the shedding concern and the blush brush. I guess I’ll stick to my Sigma ones πŸ™‚ However, the eye brushes. hmm. The RT starter set brushes were incredibly scratchy!!! Akala ko ako lang nakakaramdam since everybody’s like raving about them.

    Like

    • You too V?? I don’t know why everyone loves the RT eye brushes. Incomparable sa Sigma brushes. And I don’t know how the Pixiwoo sisters keep on using them for their tutorials. Kung sana kasing ganda ng quality ng face brushes nila.

      Like

  2. Purple is my favorite color so initially i was really interested in these, but I heard what you said–they shed, and when compared to any Sigma brush they just don’t really compare. I do have a couple of her brushes and love them though:) I definitely see why you said that this set would be great for someone just getting into makeup and doesn’t want to spend a ton of money. Great review girl!

    Like

  3. Haaayyyy thanks Nikki for this honest review. You saved me $40++! will scratch it off my wishlist na. =) some products talaga are hyped lang no? or kasi mejo mura din talaga kaya it’s popular =) sticking to my sigmas na lang hehe =)

    Like

  4. The purple wins instant points, but I’m not sure if I will ever go for a big brush set. I feel like I would never get around to cleaning all of them (because I am lazy) and then I would have run out of brushes… at least if you only have 1, you can’t ‘just use another one’ and then end up with an intimidating washing pile πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

