It’s Playtime: The Play 101 Pencils from Etude House

Etude House Play 101 Pencils

It seems like every brand is getting into the twist-up pencil craze. It started with Clinique, then Revlon followed and before you know it, dozens kept popping up everywhere. Pretty soon, almost everyone was raving how awesome the idea was.

Including me. I’m such a fan. You won’t be hearing any complaints from this side.

And ladies, we’re in for a treat as Etude House has now their own version. You girls won’t be disappointed.

The Promise:

Etude House Play 101 Pencils2

Sketch Your Face With Multi Magic Pencil!

ETUDE HOUSE presents New Multi Pencil ‘Play 101 Pencil’ for easy and magical makeup! Creamy, Matte, Glossy, Shimmering Glitter variety of texture helps to have quick and easy make up, as eye, lip and blusher!
It will help make up starters to professionals for more effective make up pencil usage

Lets all turn into a princess with Play 101 Pencil.

The Review:

Etude House Play 101 Pencils3

The Play 101 Pencils each come as a slim, black pencil with their corresponding numbers and shades at the bottom, which are pretty much true to color. Etude House is so kind enough to give us a huge range of shades, from nudes to reds, pinks, corals and some blues, purples and greens too, an amazing total of 50 all in all! Now that’s what I call variety!

pencil101etude

These pencils are advertised as multi-taskers. They can be used for the eyes, lips and cheeks as eyeshadows, eyeliners, bases, concealers, blush, lip colors. Aaah! The possibilities are endless.

Etude House Play 101 Pencils4

Twist-ups are my favorite kind of pencils. No product is wasted and you won’t end up with messy pencil shavings at all. But what if — just what if — you need a sharper end? For a thinner definition on your waterline? A thinner cat-eye? Well, look no further! The Play 101 Pencils come with their own sharpener attached at the end. You’ll have to be gentle though. These are soft pencils.

Etude House Play 101 Pencils6

I bought the shades #8 (matte beige), #15 (glossy peachy coral), #23 (glossy, cool-toned berry red), #24 (creamy burgundy red), #25 (glossy, warm-toned medium pink), #36 (electric blue with glitter) and #50 (creamy dark brown). I use #8 as an eyeshadow base and spot concealing. It works precisely for those pesky post-acne marks all over my chin and cheeks although you have to layer it on several times for medium coverage. I prefer to use #36 and #50 as eyeliners. They look so good and impressively lasts the whole day without fading if I’m careful not to rub my eyes. They stay on fine if exposed to water or sweat just don’t rub them because smudge-proof, they are not.

Etude House Play 101 Pencils5
Etude House Play 101 Pencils swatches
For blushes, I go with #15 and #25. The darker one lasts longer but both needs to be set with a powder if you want to get rid of the shine (or your favorite powder blush for a wonderful combination!). Blend as fast as you can before they set.
Etude House Play 101 Pencils 15 25 swatches
#25 and #15: two lines then blended
On my lips, I like #23 and #25, both of which are slightly hydrating. With #15, I look too washed out and #24 can’t seem to agree with me because it feels very heavy and matte-like and whenever I rub my lips together, the color peels off in some areas.
Etude House Play 101 Pencils 15 lip swatch
Play 101 Pencil #15
Etude House Play 101 Pencils 23 lip swatch
Play 101 Pencil #23
Etude House Play 101 Pencils 24 lip swatch
Play 101 Pencil #24
Etude House Play 101 Pencils 25 lip swatch
Play 101 Pencil #25

I’m strongly reminded of the colored pencils I used in my art classes in elementary every time I have these in my hands. Like I’m in an art class and I can go as crazy as I want with these pencils, practically doing anything I please with them.

Each Play 101 Pencil is available for Php 348 at all Etude House stores nationwide.

 

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

12 thoughts on “It’s Playtime: The Play 101 Pencils from Etude House

  1. Whoa that’s a lot of pencils!!! Although, question: if they stay well on the eyes, doesn’t that make them too drying for the lips? They do look great on you though, very smooth!

    Like

  2. I’d probably buy about two pencils from the line, but I’m sure glad for the variety. My first Etude House eyeliner was a Proof 10 Auto Pencil with this incredible metallic black-gold color (without glitter, of course, as I hate glitter eyeliner). Sadly they discontinued it after a year. I’m hoping to find an alternative from this wide selection. 🙂

    Like

  3. #15 has my name all over it!! So pretty! I’d double it as a lip pencil, too! 🙂 Are these forgiving on the lips? Do they tend to catch those nasty flaky bits? And 50 shades total?! That’s MASSIVE!

    Like

  4. Not gonna lie, kind of had a ‘shadegasm’ when I saw that picture of all the colours! 😀 How awesome is it that you can use one as a concealer as well?! I must have a look and see if any of the places around here that stock Etude House have some of these!

    23 and 25 are definitely winners on you as lipsticks 🙂

    Like

  5. Pingback: September 2014 Product Round-up | Girl Behind the Glasses

  6. Pingback: Best of My 2014 Product Round Up | Girl Behind the Glasses

Leave a Reply

