Smooth As Butter: NYX Butter Lipsticks in Sweet Tart, Mary Janes and Licorice

NYX Butter Lipsticks

I was not overly impressed with NYX lipsticks before. I should have bought the Round Lipsticks first but instead I tried the matte ones. My lips were left painfully dry and worse, I had an allergic reaction to them. After that, I never bothered trying anything else.

It doesn’t mean that I will never try any lip product from NYX. Where’s the fun and adventure in that? Now when the Butter Lipsticks came out, I wanted to hoard a few choice shades. But I only picked 3.

Believe me, it was one of the most difficult decisions I had to make.

The Promise:

NYX Butter Lipsticks3

Pamper your lips with a hydrating kiss of smooth Butter Lipstick in 22 luxurious shades. The delicate texture of satin fused with the high color saturation creates an even finish on lips that’s long-wearing and beautiful.

What it is:  Full coverage lipstick that feels like it melts onto the lips.

• What it does:  Adds a pop of color to lips.

• Why we love it:  This lightweight formula is non-sticky and deposits high impact color with just one stroke.

• How to use:  Apply directly on bare lips or over lip liner/primer for more pigmentation.

The Review:

NYX Butter Lipsticks2

NYX Butter Lipsticks can be easily recognized with their color-coordinated plastic tubes, each shade corresponding to the color of the tube, with a clear part in the middle so you can see the lipstick inside.  It has a sweet, candy-like scent, and in my opinion, very close to the smell of cotton-candy. There are a total of 22 shades ranging from nudes, to pinks to deep reds.

NYX Butter Lipsticks Licorice, Mary Janes, Sweet Tart swatches

Sweet Tart is described as a deep pink with blue undertone. It’s a cool-toned, medium pink. It’s the ideal bright pink for daytime for anyone who wants to try something vivid but not too intimidating to wear. It has a sheer to medium coverage and builds up nicely, lasting for at least 3 hours.

NYX Butter Lipstick Sweet Tart lip swatch

Mary Janes is described as a true red. It’s a neutral red with neither cool nor warm tones. I think this is one of those reds that’s meant to suit anyone. It offers medium coverage with one swipe and a bolder, fuller color after several more. This shade lasts for 4-5 hours before leaving a reddish stain behind.

NYX Butter Lipstick Mary Janes lip swatch

Licorice is described as a deep burgundy. This one was the hardest to swatch and photograph. It’s more purple than burgundy, even if it doesn’t look like it. (I feel a little bit like Lorde with this color, you know with her dark hair and lips.) Application was streaky and it’s not as opaque as much as I had expected. After some time, it settled on my lip lines and emphasized every dry patch I had. Exfoliation prior to application is a must with this. This lasts for 5-6 hours and also leaving a stain after.

NYX Butter Lipstick Licorice lip swatch2

All of them are equally hydrating. I can put them on without the need of any lip balm. They go smoothly on the lips and can be built up in opacity. Because of their creaminess, the color tends to migrate outside the lips after several hours of wear which can be avoided with the use of a lip liner. I recommend you swatch them personally as looks can be quite deceiving.

I like them, especially because it’s not drying at all, but I wouldn’t say I’m a fan. I’m not in a hurry either to try all colors, not even the coral ones. Maybe when I chance upon a sale someday.

NYX Butter Lipsticks retail for $6 from NYX online in the US but range from Php 250-290 here in the Philippines, depends on who you’re buying it from. Remeber, online sellers grow by the number everyday.

 

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

 

16 thoughts on “Smooth As Butter: NYX Butter Lipsticks in Sweet Tart, Mary Janes and Licorice

  1. Pingback: August 2014 Product Round-up | Girl Behind the Glasses

  2. Hm… I would quite like to try these lipsticks (I like their butter glosses and have tried the round lipsticks so I think I know what you mean about creaminess/slipperiness), but I’m not in too much of a rush. I really appreciate the review and the nice photos though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

