The Body Shop Vitamin E Aqua Boost Sorbet

The Body Shop Vit E Aqua Boost Sorbet

I’m still searching for the best moisturizer suited for my oily skin, one that’s locally available.

And along the way, I saw The Body Shop’s newest addition to its Vitamin E range in one of their displays. I once used the Vitamin E Moisture Cream as my daytime moisturizer. After finishing the jar, I never repurchased. My oily skin just couldn’t handle the extra grease.

This latest addition, however, promises a matte finish with a fresh feeling. Well, color me intrigued.

The Promise:

The Body Shop Vit E Aqua Boost Sorbet2

An instant cooling sensation for all day hydration. This silky-soft moisturizer hydrates and refreshes skin with an ultra-light light formula.

  • Quenches skin’s thirst
  • Feels like a burst of freshness on skin
  • Enriched with wheatgerm oil & Community Fair Trade shea butter from Ghana

With 2 Million hydrating aqua spheres in each jar.
Women who used this product said:
90% feels velvety soft on skin
83% feels like a burst of freshness on skin
83% feels skin feeling hydrated all day
82% leaves an all day mattifying finish on skin

What’s an aqua sphere?

Skin needs water to pump and hydrated. Vitamin E Aqua Boost Sorbet contains Aqua Sphere technology — microscopic spheres that act like tiny reservoirs and hold hundreds of times Β their weight in pure water.

FULL INGREDIENTS:
Aqua/Water/Eau (Solvent), Glycerin (Humectant), Dimethicone (Skin Conditioning Agent), Alcohol Denat. (Solvent), Silica (Absorbent), Butyrospermum Parkii Butter/Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter (Skin Conditioning Agent – Emollient), Sodium Acrylates Crosspolymer-2 (Absorbent), Phenoxyethanol (Preservative), Divinyldimethicone/Dimethicone Crosspolymer (Film Former), Ammonium Polyacrylolydimethyl Taurate (Emulsifier), Polysorbate 20 (Emulsifier), Tocopherol (Antioxidant), Triticum Vulgare Germ Oil/Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil (Emollient), Glycine Soja Oil/Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil (Emollient/Skin Conditioner), Caprylyl Glycol (Skin Conditioning Agent), Xanthan Gum (Viscosity Modifier), Parfum/Fragrance (Fragrance), Menthol (Fragrance/Cooling Agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH Adjuster), C12-13 Pareth-23 (Surfactant), Linalool (Fragrance Ingredient), C12-13 Pareth-3 (Emulsifier), Menthoxypropanediol (Flavour), t-Butyl Alcohol (Denaturant), Benzyl Salicylate (Fragrance Ingredient), Geraniol (Fragrance Ingredient), Citric Acid (pH Adjuster), CI 14700/Red 4 (Colorant)

The Review:

The Body Shop Vit E Aqua Boost Sorbet3

The Vitamin E Aqua Boost Sorbet comes in a frosted glass jar that has a bit of heft but not all that heavy. There’s no pump or spoon included so you have to scoop out the product with your clean, bare hands. (Clean hands people, clean!) It has a light gel-like consistency with a pinkish color not visible once applied. It has a distinct floral scent that I can’t describe properly. I don’t know if it’s the same as the rest of the Vitamin E range. (It’s been ages since I last smelled those, I can’t remember the scents.) Sometimes, I think I’ve imagined it to smell like green tea instead. A floral/green tea combo perhaps?

Anyway, it leaves a pleasant and refreshingly, cool sensation on the face for about 5 minutes or so before fading. It’s not minty nor is it tingling, for those of you who are wondering. I wish this was introduced here last April when the summer heat was intolerable. It’s the perfect solution for those crazy, hot days then! I would have applied this liberally all over my face and neck then turn towards a fan or an airconditioning unit to get a blast of cold air. Can you imagine how that would feel like?

The lightweight formula easily sinks into my skin within the minute I apply it and once absorbed, it leaves a semi-matte finish and makes my skin feel so soft and moisturized. It didn’t give my skin that totally tight feeling associated with most mattifying products (I really hate those!). It didn’t make me extra oily during the day but it neither helped in making my face oil-free for an extra hour. In short, my face started getting shiny just as it did when I was using other oil-free, mattifying moisturizers. Bummer.

Moreover, I have yet to experience a major break out from this despite the silicone content. And I am fervently hoping to avoid having one.

The winning quality of this moisturizer is the cool feeling it instantly gives me. This will probably work best for those with normal and combination skin types. I’m not sure about oily-skinned individuals though. If you’re looking for something more mattifying, I can’t guarantee this. The matte finish isn’t as long lasting as I’d hope it would be. But then again, maybe my skin’s extremely oily.

The Vitamin E Aqua Boost Sorbet retails for $22 from the The Body Shop online and Php 995 here in the Philippines.

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

12 thoughts on “The Body Shop Vitamin E Aqua Boost Sorbet

  1. Bummer this did not work for your skin. I have oily skin as well and have been searching for a good matte finish moisturizer. I dislike the tight feeling they leave as well, and some tend to give me small breakouts.
    Forever trying new things though! Goodluck, and if you find a good one let me know!

    Like

  2. Thanks for the review. I tested it at the back of my hand and I really felt the cooling sensation. I am not a fan of the smell, though. I won’t be getting this anymore since I want my face to be less oily at least for 3 hrs. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Much thanks for the review. I have had oily skin for most of my life (before it suddenly decided have a mid-life crisis and go, “Hey, you know what, I’d like to be dry from now on”) but when I did have oily skin, I’d go with a Kiehl’s ultrafacial gel moisturiser and some loose mattifying powder over it.

    Good luck!

    Like

  4. Thnx for the review!I wondered about this but when I tested it in store it felt good as soon as I put it on , but then it felt like I hadn’t put anything on within a few minutes so I passed on it. It’s so pretty tho!!

    Like

  5. This is so cute!! I don’t have any skincare from The Body Shop right now (aside from their Vitamin C eyecare duo, which I rarely ever reach for), but the textures of their recent launches have all looked awesome!

    Like

  6. Hm, I was intrigued by this, as I am also on the search for the perfect (relatively affordable!) moisturiser. So far my skin has really liked some Chanel and Lancome stuff I’ve sampled, which is a bit beyond my budget, especially in NZ, LOL! I don’t really need mattifying, and the cooling sensation sounds lovely. I wonder if the Body Shop Vitamin e range is OK for me though – I use their body butters all the time, but the one time I tried their Vitamin E BB creme thing, my skin kind of itched and tingled all day. Might have to go into the store and give it a swatch!

    Like

Leave a Reply

