Maybelline The Magnum Volum’ Express Waterproof Mascara

Maybelline the Magnum Volume Mascara

When it comes to mascaras, I prefer a little more oomph in terms of volume instead of length. That is if I were to pick only one. But no sane woman will really just choose one, now would she?

That’s because my lashes are uncurlable. They are so fine, they defeat any eyelash curler and other conventional means of curling. It’s a curse. So really, my lashes will forever be grateful to a mascara that can give them more volume.

That’s why I tried one of Maybelline’s Volum’ Express mascaras.

The Promise:

THE SECRET TO 9X MORE LASH VOLUME?

Collagen Formula

Super volumized lashes await thanks to Β the unique all-plump, no-clump collagen formula of Volum’ Express Magnum Mascara.

The Mega Brush

It just keeps getting better & better! The patented curved brush that follows your eye shape and lifts up your lashes is now packed with more bristles that reach even the smallest eyelash.

The Review:

Maybelline the Magnum brush

Correct me if I’m wrong but isn’t the Magnum Volum’ Express Mascara the Asian counterpart to the Colossal Volum’ Express Mascara? They both have the same yellow/purple plastic tube. I don’t have the Colossal Mascara to compare it too but from what I’ve read, the similarities end there.

The most distinctive quality about this mascara is its brush, the Magnum brush. It is wide and flat on one side and curved on the other. The curved inner side has shorter bristles that somehow fits to my eyelids’ shape to help give my lashes some volume. The outer side has longer bristles which make it easy to reach the lower and shorter lashes on the corners of my eyes.

Maybelline the Magnum brush2

Performance-wise, it manages to give my upper lashes some slight curl to them — more so after I apply 2 or more coats — and hold it the whole day. It also lengthened them quite a bit. I haven’t experienced any smudging so far on my oily lids (that’s always a plus!) and it stays on my lashes until I have to take it off with a cleansing oil. Yes, it’s waterproof. It definitely held its own against the rainy weather here in the Philippines.

The first few times I used it though, I experienced some clumping with a single pass. Now despite the volume and length it gives me, I’m not impressed with this product. True, it makes my lashes more noticeable but I’ve met other mascaras that have given them more volume and length than I’ve expected. Compared to Benefit’s They’re Real Mascara or Josie Maran’s GOGO Instant Natural Volume Argan Mascara, the Magnum mascara is only average in my opinion. (Those two has spoiled my lashes and has made me more picky.)

The final verdict? It passes for a cheap, volumizing and waterproof mascara for everyday. But like I said, it doesn’t perform as great as the one’s I’ve mentioned.

The Magnum Volum’ Express Waterproof Mascara retails for Php 399 in all Maybelline counters nationwide. Have you tried this mascara? What were your thoughts?

 

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | PINTEREST | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM


7 thoughts on “Maybelline The Magnum Volum’ Express Waterproof Mascara

  1. Aww so sorry to hear this one isn’t all that great! Have you tried a lash primer? I find a good one really helps the lashes stay curled! My personal favorite is Dior Diorshow Lash Maximizer! I’ve gone through a handful of tubes of that thing. If I have to choose lash product to invest in, this would be it!

    Like

  2. Hm, I’m always a bit ‘meh’ about mascaras – it’s terrible! I guess it’s just because mascaras, as a short lifetime/big promise item, need to be really awesome for me to get excited about paying at least $20 for a tube (which is what drugstore mascaras tend to cost here). I live off samples, usually, so I’ve tried many brands, but few have made me raise a (positive) eyebrow. The quest continues! πŸ˜€

    Like

  3. Pingback: Best of My 2014 Product Round Up | Girl Behind the Glasses

Leave a Reply

