Good & Clean Skin with Alba Botanica

Alba Botanica Good & Clean

Here it is at last! The review that’s been long overdue.

I purchased Alba Botanica’s Good & Clean Pore Purifying Mini Peel mainly because I wanted to start using products with hydroxy acid in it. In low concentrations, hydroxy acids — there are two, alpha and beta — are used in dermatology as chemical peels to improve skin appearance and texture, reducing wrinkles, post-acne marks, hyperpigmentation and other dermatologic conditions. It reacts with the top layer of the skin — the epidermis, and acts as an exfoliant. Basically, dead skin cells don’t get a chance to build up therefore, no clogged pores.

The Promise:

Daily Detox Foaming Cleanser

Oil Clearing Master Cleanse
Powerful yet gentle, this rich lathering cream breaks up oil and deep-set impurities without causing over-sensitivity. Powered by ten AHA-rich botanicals, the unique Fruit Acid Detox Fusion partners with Green Tea and Rice in this foaming cleanser for pore-purifying detoxification and soothing refreshment.
Oil Free. Non-comedogenic. Hypo-allergenic. Dermatologist Tested.
[For sensitive skin]

Pore Purifying Mini Peel

Purity Revealed – and Fast!
When toxin-retention prevents your skin from truly coming clean, it’s time to peel away the problem. Powered by 6% Alpha Hydroxy Acids, the unique Fruit Acid Detox Fusion helps this fast-acting gel quickly eliminate dull surface cells, dissolve stubborn pollutants and release imbedded toxins. In just minutes, pores seem to disappear and skin looks bright, smooth and completely revitalized. 

The Review:

The Daily Detox Foaming Cleanser dispenses a milky white cream that does not really make much of a lather the way I expected it to. However, my face feels really clean and smooth to touch after every wash. I do believe that it’s a little bit hydrating on my skin as well. I never experience that tightness that I have gotten before with some facial washes like all the moisture in your face gets sucked because of its harsh chemical ingredients  — most local brands I have tried catering to oily skin were like that. This one is different though. It’s soothing and gentle on my sensitive skin. I haven’t experienced any breakouts since I started using this. I enjoy using this especially in the evening when I wash off every gunk I’ve layered on my face. Feels so refreshing afterwards!

Alba Botanica Daily Detox Foaming Cleanser

The Pore Purifying Mini Peel is a clear yellowish gel product made to be applied starting twice a week on a clean face and gradually built up in frequency. Daily applications from the start can result in skin redness, dryness and some flaking. I tried using it every other day when I started and yes, I noticed there was immediate drying and peeling at the top of the my cupid’s bow and my cheeks were quite red. Oops, so back I went to applying it every 3 days. But now I am able to apply this every other day without worrying for all those side effects. I put a liberal amount of this on my face after cleansing with the Daily Detox and leave it on for 5 minutes. There’s a mild tingling sensation after 2-3 minutes but it’s not bothersome at all. Then, I wash it off with water. My skin is softer by this point, softer than when I’m only using the cleanser. The pores on the sides of my nose look smaller but I doubt it can minimize them with long-term use.

Alba Botanica Pore Purifying Mini Peel

I’m in love with these two skincare products. And they smell so good! Both have a citrus scent to them but I prefer the Pore Purifying Mini Peel more because I’m always reminded of a tall glass of lemonade.

A word of caution though for anyone who is interested in using these products and any product with hydroxy acid in it. Use sunscreen. Hydroxy acids, especially beta hydroxy acids, can make skin susceptible to sun damage. You may have noted some improvement on areas with fine wrinkles but photoaging (changes due to chronic sun exposure)? Surely you don’t want that?

The Daily Detox Foaming Cleanser and Pore Purifying Mini Peel each retails for $8.99 in the US and Php 380 in Rustan’s Supermarket here in the Philippines. The Alba Botanica Good & Clean range is 100% Vegetarian. Their products are not tested on animals, have no artificial colors, artificial fragrances, parabens, phthalates, sodium lauryl sulfate or sodium myreth sulfate.

 

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

One thought on “Good & Clean Skin with Alba Botanica

  1. You know, I really want to try some kind of chemical exfoliant someday. However, as a person with dry skin, who has been known to get eczema on her face (usually it sticks to bothering my hands), I kind of feel like it might be more trouble than it’s worth!

    Like

Leave a Reply

