Love The Second Time Around: Products Given A Second Chance

Love the second time

There are certain products you never think will work for you the first time you tried it on. Admit it. Whether it’s some kind of skincare, makeup or a tool, you kind of just gave up on it after a few attempts at making it work then stowed it away to be tried later for the nth time or worse, never again. Am I right?

But nothing stays the same. You might have reached for that seldom-used palette with a new brush and when used together, works perfectly well with each other. You might have applied an old foundation differently or maybe your skin got better over time but suddenly, you now have that promised luminous skin.

Something changed. The weather? Your preference maybe or is it the trends? Whatever it is, there maybe beauty products you own that did not impressed you the first time but now, they seem so amazing to your eyes. Well, here’s mine:

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Incandescent Light. I mentioned this awhile back as part of my June products. Honestly, I never paid much attention to this powder in the palette. It was either Dim Light or Radiant Light I favored, especially the latter. But like I said, something changed. Suddenly, I was all for Incandescent light. The subtle glow it gives me as I dust it on the top of my cheekbones, forehead and bridge of my nose was too perfect for every summer look I imagined. It isn’t too shimmery or glittery like the rest of the traditional highlighters. It suits someone like me who has an oily skin and an aversion to anything overly frosty.

Too Faced Brow Envy

Too Faced Brow Envy. I bought this before it was repackaged for the summer collection this year hence, the pink cardboard and the mini drawer containing the stencils and brow pencil. I think it was the brow powders that left me unsatisfied because my hair was still a medium blonde then. The blonde brow powder was too ashy and brunette was too dark. Even if I mixed the two shades, I couldn’t make it work. Now though — I think it’s because I have darker hair, brunette works fine and my unruly left brow has found its match in the ‘Girl Next Door’ stencil. It looks tame and cooperative. You can purchase this set here.

The Balm Meet Matt(e)

The Balm Meet Matt(e) Eyeshadow Palette. This was the palette I was talking about earlier. The seldom-used one that frustrated me to no end. I declared this last year as too chalky and powdery. Powder dust got kicked up a lot and I just wasted a ton of product every time I use it. I recently found the culprit. It’s the angled brush that comes with it. It’s actually a good brush just not one I would ever use again in an eyeshadow this soft and finely-milled. I’ve used it several times though to shape my brows and put some eyeliner on — those are some things this brush seems capable of. But for the palette, it’s Sigma brushes from here on out.

Majolica Majorca Brow & Lash Colorist

Majolica Majorca Brow Colorist. This one was not exactly a case of dislike-first-like-now. I did enjoy this brow gel when I first used it but the introduction of the Anastasia Dipbrow Pomade to my brow routine made me forget all about this Japanese beauty product until I began clearing out my drawer of items I was going to give away. I thought, since I had plans to give it to my friend, why not go down memory lane one more time and remember why I was using this every day before. I whipped out the wand, brushed it a couple of times on my brows and waited for that acute nostalgia to happen. But, nothing. I wasn’t impressed and I felt I was missing something. So I tried it the next day with the Brow Envy Kit and wouldn’t you know it, I’ve suddenly got brows that scream va-va-voom! This one’s not going anywhere yet. I’m still keeping it. )Why did I not try these two brow products together?)

Now it’s your turn. Tell me, were there any products you gave a second chance to and fell in love with this time around?

 

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

12 thoughts on “Love The Second Time Around: Products Given A Second Chance

  1. Hey Nikki, the only thing I’ve given a second chance recently is the new Benefit liner. However, that story doesn’t have a happy ending! It just isn’t reliable enough, so I think it’s a goner for me! I really need to lay my hands on that Hourglass palette 😉

    Like

  2. Hm…I think the thing I’ve really given a second chance to lately would be some of my assorted lipsticks from AGES ago. I wasn’t exactly wowed by any of them, but things went better than when I first tried them, likely because I’ve developed better habits for lipstick prep and application!

    Like

  3. i wish id learn to like Incandescent light too as much as i love the other two powders from this palette. it looks ashy on me :S but dim light tho is the bomb, best setting powder i ever used.
    btw nice selection of products nikki!

    Like

Leave a Reply

