Guerlain Sun Celebration Terracotta Bronzing Powder

Guerlain Terracotta Sun Celebration4

Oh, Guerlain, you had me at hello.

Well no, not literally. If your products could talk by themselves, that would be really amazing. Except they don’t. It’s fine with me though because they sure as hell had me at their packaging.

And even if your limited edition bronzer cannot speak a word, it still got my undivided attention. It was without a doubt, love at first sight. I’m so head over heels that I’m about to swoon.

The Promise:

Guerlain Terracotta Sun Celebration

Guerlain celebrates the 30th anniversary of its bronzing powder with the Terracotta Sun Celebration, a bronzing powder and blush rolled into one convenient package. The multitasking compact gives your cheeks a sun-kissed glow while the soft, lightweight formula replicates health, bringing a fresh flush of color to your skin. It’s inspired by the best-selling Terracotta shade 03 with its pink and orange hues.

The Review:

Guerlain Terracotta Sun Celebration2
Guerlain Terracotta Sun Celebration3

The Guerlain Sun Celebration Terracotta Bronzing Powder is housed in a dark, elegant wooden compact with three magnets holding the mirrored lid and compact together. The first few times I opened it, I was pulling the lid like I would with a regular compact, which took some time before I was able to accomplish it. But then it hit me; it’s actually easier and faster if I gently slide the lid away from the body. Magnets, so tricky sometimes,Β sheesh.

On the pan, the powder is separated into quarters, two are bronzers of the same shade, one pink blush and one orange blush. At the center is an embossed sun with the Guerlain logo, same as the one in the wooden lid, covered with a golden overspray. Β At the top is the word ‘TERRACOTTA’. As you open the compact, you will get a whiff of its heavenly floral scent.

As it’s a limited edition product, I was quite happy not to dip my brush in it all too soon. But after much delay and curiosity, my resolve finally broke and oh man, both the bronzer and the blushes apply gloriously! They are all pigmented and very much buildable, soft and finely milled, not chalky, not powdery at all and blends well into the skin. The bronzer is a warm-toned light brown, the orange blush has peachy tones in it and the pink blush has a bit of a coral in it. Β All the shades more or less last on me for a good 8 hours and has a satin to matte finish. Combining all three shades gives my skin that sun-kissed look that I really love. Sun celebration indeed!

Guerlain Terracotta Sun Celebration swatch
Swatches from L-R: Bronzer – Orange blush – Pink blush – All three combined

 

This is the biggest and most beautiful bronzer/blush compact I have in my stash. There are 16g worth of product that I know will last me for a long time. Each of the quarters are large enough that I can swirl my brush on a particular shade. I’m currently trying so hard not to brush the overspray away so months from now it can still somewhat resemble what it first looked like. Wish me luck on that.

It’s currently sold out in Sephora, Neiman Marcus and Nordstrom, where I ordered it from. But if you happen to be a big fan of Guerlain bronzers and this is still available where you are, I suggest you grab it fast.

 

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

23 thoughts on “Guerlain Sun Celebration Terracotta Bronzing Powder

  1. Wow. Been loving bronzers more these days (compared to blush). I’m ok not getting this, I checked out their other bronzers, but ended up spending time swatching the highlighters (attempting the impossible)

    Like

  2. Ganda!! Ive been wanting a Guerlain bronzer for the longest but was perfecty happy w my NARS Laguna so I resisted πŸ™‚ now that Im done w my Laguna, I think I’m ready for Guerlain!!

    Like

  3. So pretty! I love each of the colours individually, and the combination on your skin πŸ™‚ I also love that it’s a wooden compact – I wish more companies would do that actually – I think cool bamboo compacts would be an eco-friendly and very attractive (but also reasonably price-able) ting indeed!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Product Round-up for June | Girl Behind the Glasses

  5. Pingback: Best of My 2014 Product Round Up | Girl Behind the Glasses

  6. Pingback: Swatch Day Sunday Vol.3: Getting Bronze-y | Girl Behind the Glasses

Leave a Reply

