MAC Mystical Lipstick

MAC Mystical3

Hello everyone!

I cannot wait to share with you my thoughts regarding this one lipstick I got from MAC’s summer collection. There was a little bit of discovery and relief on my part. You shall soon see.

Let’s get to it then!

 

The Review:

MAC Mystical

MAC Mystical2

Mystical is described as a midtone creamy rose with a cremesheen finish. It looks like a dusky rose — actually, a bit of an rosy MLBB — on me that I can easily wear everyday with any look I choose. It applies creamy, with no lip tugging  or clinging to dry patches and delivers a medium coverage with one swipe on the lips. it is nondrying and a bit hydrating. There’s a slight glossy finish to it, rendering this shade with a short lifespan of 2-3 hours before fading evenly.

MAC Mystical lip swatch

Funny enough, as I went through my day, I was suddenly reminded of a another shade of MAC lipstick. I’ve hailed this other one too as my rosy-MLBB, if there ever was a thing, long before Mystical came out and I’ve named it as one of my top 3 lipsticks under MAC.

Any guesses?

If you’ve thought of Cosmo (pink coco with an amplified creme finish), then you and I are on the same wavelength. Temptalia doesn’t list it as a dupe but to me it’s almost similar.

MAC Mystical dupe swatch

The difference between the two is not much. Mystical is pinker and has more slip and sheen compared to Cosmo, which makes the latter more long-wearing (lasts an extra hour) and pigmented to my experience. As you can see from the swatches above, Mystical looks glossier next to Cosmo. And for fun, I decided to swatch Creme in Your Coffee, which is more brown, next to the two.

For those who wanted Mystical but wasn’t able to get one, I highly suggest you try Cosmo. You’re not going to miss out on the shade, I promise. But the limited edition, teal lipstick tube laden with fake water droplets? My apologies. I can’t do anything about that.

Did you get this lipstick from the Alluring Aquatic collection or did you skip it entirely?

 

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

13 thoughts on “MAC Mystical Lipstick

  1. hi nikki just want to say that your recent blog posts are my kryptonite lol and just basing on them i also wanna say that you have good taste in makeup 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

