Laura Mercier Foundation Primer (Oil Free)

Laura Mercier Foundation Primer Oil Free

Primer has always helped in prolonging the wear time of any foundation I wear. Filling in my crater-sized pores and toning down the redness of my face are just added bonuses. Now, the options for the specific primer to use are determined by these two possible outcomes: will I want a super greasy look halfway through the day or an extra bumpy one by using something that is chock full of silicones?

Hmm, decisions, decisions. Either way, I suffer. So in my search for an oil-free and silicone-free primer, I was led to Laura Mercier.

The Promise:

Oil controlling ingredients ensure long wear and flawless application. Meant to be used prior to foundation, creating an invisible layer that acts as a buffer to outside elements. Leaves makeup looking fresh & colour-true the entire day.

  • Specifically created for oily, sensitive and acne-prone skin types; oil free
  • Contains high water content and addresses surface dehydration around active blemishes
  • Oil controlling ingredients ensure long-wear and flawless application
  • Vitamins A, C, and E act as antioxidants & protect the skin from harmful, aging effects of the environment
  • Cooling Foundation Primer in the refrigerator is refreshing for the skin and reduces puffiness
  • Non-comedogenic

The Review:

Laura Mercier Foundation Primer Oil Free2

The Laura Mercier Foundation Primer (Oil Free) comes in a squeeze-tube packaging so you can control how much product you can dispense. The primer itself has a slight plastic smell to it that disappears  as you’ve worked it into your skin. It did turn me off for a while.

If you’ve been reading my blog, you would’ve known how this primer sometimes works for me and sometimes doesn’t. Some days, after just 3-4 hours, I’ll start looking a bit oily — my T-zone and the sides of my nose specifically — which is so frustrating because it has oil controlling properties.  Or maybe it’s the kind of weather we’ve been having here lately? Too hot and humid? But there are some days when I’ll just get shiny after lunch time, after 5-6 hours. It has no pore-filling capabilities either but I don’t care (my current KGD foundation takes care of that problem).

I do love how it acts like a non-greasy moisturizer though. When I’m in a total rush, like I’ve only got 5 minutes to do my face in the mornings, I skip the moisturizer part — I know, so bad! — and get right to putting this on after my sunblock. I feel like my skin isn’t dehydrated at all. And it has never caused me any break outs. My sensitive skin couldn’t be more grateful.

One of the downsides of this product is the fact that after you’ve unsealed the tube, you’ve got 6 months before it expires. I recommend getting the smaller sized tube if you don’t put on makeup everyday.

Laura Mercier Foundation Primer Oil Free swatch

I have a confusing relationship with this primer. Like I said, some days it works and some days, I don’t think it’s really there at all. Have you tried this primer in particular?

The Laura Mercier Oil Free Foundation Primer retails for $33 for the 1.0 oz and $19.50 for the 1.0 oz at Laura Mercier online and Sephora.

name sign

Don’t forget to follow me on:

BLOGLOVIN | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

11 thoughts on “Laura Mercier Foundation Primer (Oil Free)

  1. When you said it sometimes doesn’t work but sometimes it does, were you using the same foundation/powder over it? Because if you were, then this sucks 😦 I’ve been on the fence about what primer to purchase next but out of all the ones that I’ve tried (only tried a few), the best one so far is the Photofinish primer from Smashbox.

    Like

  2. Hm. Sounds a bit average, really. :-S Mind you, I’m not much of a primer aficionado! I’ve only ever tried one, and I couldn’t tell you if it actually helped or not 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

