Get Red-y with the New Viva Glam Rihanna

MAC Viva Glam Rihanna2
It’s so puurrty!

Hold up! I’ve been wearing the new Viva Glam Rihanna Lipstick and Tinted Lipglass since I got it two weeks ago. And I’m luvin’ every second of it! I think it’s time to share this gorgeous red with you.

I swore my last MAC x Rihanna purchase was her Holiday collection but then, boom! MAC announces her to be the next spokesperson for Viva Glam 2014. Speculations ran wild regarding the color story until finally MAC released them late January this year.

I’m sure everyone knows that every cent made from these goes to those affected by HIV/AIDS. So, anything for a good cause right? And besides, as a doctor practicing in the medical field, I should support this.

The Campaign:

MAC Viva Glam Rihanna

Rihanna launches our new MAC VIVA GLAM with two strikingly bold shades of red frosted Lipstick and Lipglass, perfectly capturing her fearless, confident style. Every cent of the selling price of VIVA GLAM Rihanna goes toward helping women, men and children living with and affected by HIV/AIDS. Limited-edition, soft-touch red packaging features RiRi’s signature.

The Review:

MAC Viva Glam Rihanna3

This Viva Glam is a step up from MAC’s usual. I’m talking about the packaging, reminiscient of last year’s Temperature Rising in terms of its matte and rubbery texture. Although I love the feel of the its packaging, getting two thumbs up from me, it’s a magnet for dust and being ‘scratch-proof’ is not exactly one of its strongest points. (Hence why my Prolongwear Bronzer from MAC’s summer’s collection last year gets its own protective casing.)Β This time though, as part of the Viva Glam collection, the lipstick and lipglass comes in a red, matte, rubberized package with Rihanna’s signature.

MAC Viva Glam Rihanna4

Viva Glam Rihanna Lipstick and Tinted Lipglass are both described as a frosty blue red. The Viva Glam Rihanna Lipstick sticks true to its description, a bright neutral to cool-toned red on me, with fine shimmer, which is unnoticeable. One swipe produces medium coverage that can be built to full opacity. It applies incredibly creamy, a heaven on lips as dry as mine. However being a Frost, the new Viva Glam lipstick has its disadvantage. It only lasts on me for 3 hours before wearing off, food and drinks in between hours — oops. I don’t mind reapplying as it’s such a beautiful color and has an even more wonderful texture and finish. It was slightly hydrating and not at all drying during the time I had it on. It had the typical vanilla scent like all of the lipsticks from MAC.

MAC Viva Glam Rihanna5

The Viva Glam Rihanna Tinted Lipglass is a neutral red , slightly cool-toned with golden microglitters. I can actually wear it all on its own if I want to have a subtle red gloss — it’s not an exact red, appears kind of toned down on bare lips. I think it will depend on how dark your lips will be. This one lasts me for 2-3 hours before the gloss fades and I’m left with the glitters. The sticky texture is no different than the rest of MAC’s lipglasses, which I’m not a big fan of. After days of wearing the non-sticky Maybelline Lip Polishes, this one was quite uncomfortable. (One reason why I barely own MAC Lipglasses.)

MAC Viva Glam Rihanna swatches

I’m a fan of this new Viva Glam lipstick. The tinted lipglass not so much. But worn together, lips look so fa-ha-habulous! (But, I’m actually pairing the lipstick with the Maybelline Lip Polish Pop 6 for an even brighter red.) I am definitely backing this beauty up and buying several more because it’s that pretty.

The Viva Glam Rihanna Lipstick retails for $16 and the Tinted Lipglass $15.

Have you tried the new Viva Glam Rihanna pair? Any thoughts?

name sign

9 thoughts on “Get Red-y with the New Viva Glam Rihanna

  1. I absolutely love this lipglass πŸ™‚ Normally I (gently) boycott MAC because of its grossly inflated pricing in this country, but if every cent of this goes to help people (not fatten MAC), then I might invest! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. I thought about getting this lipstick but the blue red shade turned me off. It may be a bit too bright for my liking 😦 But now, I think I’m regretting not getting it 😦

    Like

  3. Pingback: March 2014 Product Round-up | Girl Behind the Glasses

Leave a Reply

