Holika Holika Face 2 Change CC Cream

Holika Holika Face 2 Change CC Cream2

There was a time when my morning makeup routine consisted of a Korean BB cream, face powder, blush and lip balm. Yes, in that particular order. In a little under five minutes, I was ready to go out the door.

Well, time changes and sad to say, my years with indulging in various Korean face makeup came to a screeching halt. It’s been more than 3 years since I last used a Korean BB cream. That last attempt, something I have tried so hard to love because of its medium-to-full coverage came from The Face Shop. I just shudder thinking about the amount of bumps I got every time I put it on. It was so bad, like breakout season bad.

Bu with the advent of CC creams and my curiosity over the Asian untinted version, I chose Holika Holika to experiment over others in the local market.

The Promise:

Holika Holika Face 2 Change CC Cream naturally corrects and evens skin while providing it with several skin improving properties. This CC cream protects against both UV A and B rays with SPF32 PA++, improves the appearance of wrinkles, moisturizes, covers imperfections with micro-capsules, and uses niacinamide to even skin tone and brighten it. Plus it comes in two shades to match your undertones, cool (01) and warm (2).

Benefits:

  • Anti-Aging
  • Moisturizes
  • Evens Tone
  • UV Protection
  • Covers Imperfections
  • Whitens
  • Brightens

The Review:

Holika Holika Face 2 Change CC Cream

The Holika Holika Face 2 Change CC Cream SPF32 PA++ comes in a matte, black tube with a built-in pump and cap, making it easy to dispense the cream and perfect to stash in your bag without worrying about a messy spillage. It takes a few pumps for the product to come out. You have to be careful about pumping it at first. One enthusiastic, full pump and you’d end up with more product than you can handle. The pump dispenses a white cream with visible “micro-color capsules” that I assume are the ones responsible for its color adapting and skin tone correcting properties.

It has a floral scent that reminds me a bit of Gucci Flora, maybe lasting for a couple of hours. It did not cover up the pores on my cheeks and nose nor did it emphasize them. No pimples or post-acne marks were  covered as well. It did tone down some of the red areas on the sides my nose and I like that I get a radiant and luminous, semi-matte finish with this. However, on my oily skin, it took 3 hours before my T-zone and cheeks were in need of powdering, and 4 more hours before it began fading. And look Ma, no bumps! Well, none yet. I’m hoping it stays that way, fingers crossed and all.

The SA suggested I use a slight tapping motion with my fingertips to push the product onto my face. That took longer than I would have liked so I first used my fingertips to blend it. The next day, I tried using the Beauty Blender but it was not as effective as using my fingers. Now, I prefer using my RT Expert Face Brush for faster blending.

Holika Holika Face 2 Change CC Cream swatch

It only comes in 2 shades. According to the website, there’s a (01) Pink Beige and a (02) Natural Beige, the former with a cool undertone, the latter, warm. I was recommended 01 but it seems as if it also has a warm undertone. Sorry, I wasn’t able to compare it with the other back at the department store.

The Holika Holika Face 2 Change CC Cream SPF32 PA++ retails for Php 855 at selected SM Department Stores here in the Philippines (or you can visit Holika Holika Philippines on Facebook) and US$25 here.

So, Korean CC creams. Are there any you’ve tried and liked?

name sign

8 thoughts on “Holika Holika Face 2 Change CC Cream

  1. Interesting! I haven’t been very adventurous with BB creams – tried two, hated them, then tried a third one, and would marry it if I could (YSL BB creme in Clear) 😀 So my adventures kind of stopped there…

    Like

  2. Great review! It looks like it really blended into your skin tone so that’s always a plus. I’ve only tried the Etude House one and didn’t like it all. This one seems quite nice! ^^

    Like

Leave a Reply

