V-day Special: Givenchy Gave Me Roses

Givenchy Le Rouge Holiday2

Yeah, you read right. I got roses from Givenchy.

Feeling confused? Let’s backtrack a little bit. If you’re thinking of long-stemmed ones, I get your confusion. Actually, I was talking about the Le Rouge Intense Color Sensuously Matte Lipstick.

I mentioned before how the Le Rouge is one of my favorite lip products of all time. And I don’t need any kind of persuasion to get more.

The Promise:

Givenchy Le Rouge Holiday

Le Rouge transforms you into a style icon with its signature semi-mat finish and genuine lambskin leather case.
Each shade is specially concentrated with intense color pigments for easy one-stroke application that lasts throughout the day. This lipstick defines, plumps, and moisturizes lips with its unique lightweight shaping formula and non-sticky texture.
Lips are sensuously dressed in radiant semi-mat color that is soft to the touch.

The Review:

Givenchy Le Rouge Holiday3

At first glance, the packaging alone indicates luxury. Both are encased in leather, one with silver and, the other, gold detailing, as part of the Fall and Holiday collection which is a limited edition, namely Soir d’Exception and Ondulations Precieuses, respectively.

Givenchy Rose dException
Givenchy Rose dException2

Rose d’Exception is described as a soft rosy pink.  It applied easily without any lip tugging and had good pigmentation with one swipe. I got 4 hours of wear on this without any feathering. It was comfortable on the lips, neither drying nor hydrating.

It is exactly a neutral pinky-nude that can be easily paired with a smokey eye. This is to-date the perfect MLBB shade for me.

Givenchy Rose Precieux2
Givenchy Rose Precieux

Rose Precieux is described as a rosy red. It also applied easily and was opaque with one full swipe on the lips. This one lasted me for a full 5 hours with no feathering before I had to reapply. Again, it was non-drying but compared to the Rose d’Exception, was slightly hydrating.

It may not look like it on my swatch but it is a slightly warm-toned, deep red on me. I found myself reaching this one for a bold-lip-and-made-up-brows look.

Givenchy Rose dException swatch
Givenchy Rose Precieux swatch

The brand logo is etched in the lipstick giving it a more luxurious touch (Don’t you just love how certain brands have a carved logo in their products?). I detected no taste when I first tried it. However, there is the usual perfume-y smell to it similar to the rest of the Givenchy Le Rouges. Despite the word ‘matte’, these limited edition Le Rouges are not like your typical mattes. They’re very… uhmm,  dry-lip friendly.

While MAC and NARS limited editions usually sell out like hot pancakes over a course of days, these are still available in Sephora for $36.00.

So will you take lipstick over flowers, or vice versa?

name sign

15 thoughts on “V-day Special: Givenchy Gave Me Roses

  1. I have both and I like them! I might prefer Rose Precieux to Rose d’Exception, but that’s probably because I find brighter lipsticks brightening my complexion more! As to the lipstick/flower question, can I please have both? LOL

    Like

  2. This looks so delicious! I love the shade, Nikki! You have the loveliest taste in lipstick, SWEAR!
    And it’s hydrating!?! Shucks. You had me there. Curiosity definitely piqued.

    Like

Leave a Reply

