Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette

 

I had a friend buy this for me before the Sephora VIB Rouge Sale went wild. I was sure that once the sale hits, this would sell out. And boy, was I right.

The Promise:

A limited edition palette featuring three shades of Ambient Lighting Powder, the high-tech, soft-focus finishing powder that features state-of-the-art technology to recreate the most exquisitely flattering types of light. Palette includes one new limited edition shade, Incandescent Light, and two existing, Dim Light and Radiant Light.

The Review:

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette2

 

Dim Light is a neutral peach beige powder that blurs imperfections and highlights a radiant complexion with the perfect balance of warm and cool tones. I tried it immediately after putting my usual foundation as a setting powderand my face remained shine-free for only 3 hours. I’ve learned to use a separate mattifying setting powder before this ambient powder. While there is no lasting oil control, it works best as a finishing powder for me to “blur imperfections”.

Incandescent Light is a pearlescent powder that highlights the cheekbones and brightens the complexion with a celestial glow. On my face, it doesn’t give the typical sheen which is usual for a highlighter. It is more subtle, like a barely there glow. I also like how it doesn’t make my face look oilier. Of all my highlighters, this was the most forgiving on my oily skin and if I have to use one, I’d pick this without a second thought.

Radiant Light is a sun-kissed golden beige that enhances the overall complexion with believable, subtle warmth, and also extends a summer glow. I like this one the best. It gave my skin a “healthy glow”. That’s the best way I can describe it. But really, I was stunned with how it looked. I tried this when I was testing hourglass’s oil-free tinted moisturiser and the effect looked like I had healthier skin, like the sun finally did some good on it.

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette swatches

 

Overall, I think this palette was a good purchase for someone who wanted to try out the Ambient Powders without the hassle of the price. I would have preferred Mood Light to be included in this palette though. And I do hope Hourglass makes more of these palettes because I want more. On that note, I’ll definitely repurchase the full-sized Radiant Light after I’m done with this one.

name sign

5 thoughts on “Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette

  1. Pingback: Product Round-up for June | Girl Behind the Glasses

  2. Pingback: Best of My 2014 Product Round Up | Girl Behind the Glasses

  3. Pingback: Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush Palette | Review | Girl Behind the Glasses

Leave a Reply

