Beauty Favorites of 2013: Lip Products

If I were to pick a single beauty product, it would be something to put on my lips. Because as my closest friends know, my addiction to lip products knows no bounds.

2013 Lip Favorites

I should start with a little info about myself; my lips in particular. They are as dry as the desert. They peel, chap and crack easily on an ordinary lip balm. The cold months can be unforgiveable. The worst part happens every time I use a matte lipstick or something else similarly drying because then, a dry spot on my upper lip appears. Annoying, ugh.

I’ve tried everything I can think of to moisturize the dry spot and prevent it from coming back. From careful exfoliation to using EOS, Chapstick, Carmex, Vaseline Lip Therapy, Maybelline’s Baby Lips, Burt’s Bees, petroleum jelly and even Lanolips. Nothing worked. I was close to giving up until I searched my stash and found Alba Botanica Mineral Tinted Lip Balm hidden in a corner. I don’t know where to begin recounting the many miracles it has performed on me. I’ve been able to revisit my MAC stash. My lips don’t peel like crazy on cremesheens any longer and I have enjoyed MAC’s satins, mattes and retro mattes without worrying about the reappearance of the dry spot.

Heaven and hell can wage a war but nothing can change my mind about the power of MAC Lip Pencils. I have others but I’m getting my money’s worth out of Ablaze and Embrace Me from last year’s Fashion Sets. I can’t stop combining them with other fuchsia and coral lippies in my stash, respectively.

Out of all the lipsticks I bought this year, I was most excited about the ones from Rihanna’s collaboration with MAC for summer 2013. Never mind the infamous Riri Woo, I’m head over heels for Heaux. And from their permanent shades, the bright fuchsia of Girl About Town was a total winner.

NARS can do nothing wrong with any of their lip products. The NARS Satin Lip Pencil has all three properties: pigment, staying power and non-drying. And I plan to collect all the shades. *evil laugh*

The Happy Skin Shut Up & Kiss Me Moisturising Lippie in First Kiss is my first lip crayon. I kid you not. Everyone in the local blogsphere was just all over them the moment they came out so I tried one. I’m totally amazed by the pigment and staying power it holds.

Lipstick encased in leather? Now that’s a luxury product. Despite being described as having a semi-matte finish, the Givenchy Le Rouge is not drying at all. The shade I bought was Corail Decollete in HK last summer and had no idea it was one of the two shades not available in the US so lucky me!

See? Like I said, I’m a lippie addict. How about you, what’s your beauty addiction?

Leave a Reply

