Beauty Favorites of 2013: Blush and Bronzer

2013 Blush and Bronzer Favorites1

I used to have only one blush in my arsenal. One product to rule the flush of my cheeks. And what a flush it was. I label that time as “clown cheek era” and cringe every time I flashback to those days. But thanks to the joys of YouTube tutorials and online shopping, I now have several. Below are my loves.

2013 Blush and Bronzer Favorites3

The Bronzer:

For years, I have wanted a good tan. My pale skin was the butt of every pale-skin joke. When everyone else was gung-ho on whitening products, I was trying to find a way to get a golden hue on my skin. The thing is, I don’t tan, I burn. MAC Prolongwear Bronzer in Sun Dipped was the first bronzer that I loved. Others are either too yellow or too orange on me. Not a day goes by that don’t dust this on my cheeks, forehead and chin. And the glow? It’s there all right, sun-kissed and all.

The Blushes:

When everyone was raving how amazing the NARS Orgasm blush is, I jumped on the bandwagon. The next time I passed by the NARS counter, I swatched it and uh, results were unfavorable. All saw was the shimmer. No matter how I applied it. You see my oily skin and shimmer are not the best of friends. They have never gotten along. But when I found out Deep Throat was a good comparison to Orgasm’s peachy-pink minus the shimmer (Allelujah!), I was sold.

My first foray into Tarte was the Amazonian Clay 12-Hr Blush in Blissful. Touted as long lasting with a 12-hr wear, the pigment packs the right punch to give me a beautiful flush on the cheeks.

Out of all the MAC blushes I bought this year, the Extra Dimension Blush in Flaming Chic has been a surprising favorite. Though not as long-wearing as Tarte’s or NARS, the  formula is a definite improvement from their other blushes.

Until next time then for more of my 2013 favorites!

One thought on “Beauty Favorites of 2013: Blush and Bronzer

Leave a Reply

