Beauty Favorites of 2013: Face Makeup

2013 Face Favorites

I confess. I am picky when it comes to beauty products like primers and foundation. But when I do find something that works, I stick to it.

To ensure my makeup will stay longer than usual, won’t slide around my face and, control my active oil glands after a couple of hours, the Rimmel Fix & Perfect Pro Primer is my best bet.

I have never looked at the ingredients list of any primer or foundation until I suspected that silicone-heavy products might be the reason behind my breakouts (a friend of mine pointed out that she gets bumps after using silicone-based foundations). I bought Happy Skin Second Skin Creme Silicone-free Foundation because of the words ‘second skin’. (FYI: I love foundations with a natural finish). I’ve been using this for two months now and have not experienced any breakouts — aside from a certain time of the month. I do hope Happy Skin would extend their shade range. Their lightest is a tad yellow and quite dark on my pale skin.

I love beauty balms. Who doesn’t? It’s multitasks several benefits into one product including priming and hydration. And just like any other Filipina, I got into Korean BB creams but sadly, their promises were all too good to be true. Their thicker creams caused a whole lot of breakouts. MAC Prep + Prime BB Compact is the first BB cream that has never broken me out and matched my skin exactly. Also, the redness on my face goes away and my pores are somehow less noticeable.

I consider anyone who complains of an oily t-zone lucky compared to my face, which tends to get oily everywhere else — cheeks and chin included. Getting shiny in the middle of the day has been the source of my frustration. Out of all the powders I’ve tried, Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder keeps the shine off my face for more than 4 hours.

I have never devoted time to concealing the dark spots on my face every day except on occasions when I have a bad case of acne. But when I do, I always pick up Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Double Face Perfector. It has a concealer on one end and a highlighter on the other.  Perfect for travels too.

So, what do you think? Share your face makeup top picks too.

Leave a Reply

