Beauty Favorites of 2013: Palettes, Eye Makeup and Brushes

Finally! Here’s the rest of the products I fell in love with last year. Hope you felt the same.

The Palettes:

2013 Palette Favorites2

From day to night, the Lorac Pro Palette has got my eye makeup covered. Multiple looks from multiply eyeshadows. This is my top pick from all my palettes. But when it comes to a natural, everyday look, I can rely on the Urban Decay Naked Basics palette for simplicity.

For traveling, I used to bring several products with me. But I’ve learned the hard way that it’s best to pack less and travel light. This is where the NARS Hearts New York Palette comes in. It has 4 eyeshadows, the Amour blush and NARS Laguna bronzer all in one compact.

The Eye Makeup:

2013 Brow and Eye Favorites

I finally get the reason why makeup enthusiasts go gaga for cream shadows. The versatility, the ease of application, it’s pure genius. Maybelline spares no thought to coming up with their own version, their Color Tattoo 24Hr Eyeshadow. I’ve actually set aside my eyeshadow primers in place of this.

Next, eyeliner. The possibility of getting my eye poked – even if by accident – by a pencil scares me. That’s why I prefer the K-Palette 24H Real Lasting Eyeliner and Maybelline Master Drama Cream Eyeliner. They are my go to staples either for a winged tip or just a simple line across my waterline.

And this year, I’ve learned it’s better to layer 2 mascaras to achieve lashes that would scream drama. I usually combine Benefit They’re Real and Josie Maran Instant Natural Volume Argan Mascara to lengthen and volumize my lashes. The effect is nothing short of phenomenal.

When it comes to brow makeup, I have never mastered the art of its perfection. I do have an eyebrow kit somewhere in my stash but I seldom use it. However, Christian Semi-Permanent Eyebrows and Majolica Majorca Brow Lash Colorist makes it easier for me to do my brows in the mornings.

And of course, my trusty Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler.

The Brushes:

2013 Brush Favorites

I was a lost soul before, using the piss-poor quality brushes and sponges that come with every pressed powder, blush and eyeshadow I bought. But I’ve seen the light. I’ve realized the error of my ways and have been illuminated by the wisdom that using the right brushes can lead to beauty redemption. For any liquid or cream foundations and bb cream, I use the Real Techniques Expert Face brush. For my blushes, it’s the RT Blush Brush. For eyeshadows, my favourites are the Sigma E30 (not shown in the photo), E40, and E55.

Whew! That was a lot. Well, until next time.